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7. Home health services. 

, 
Covered home health services are those provided by a Medicare 
certified home health agency that complies with 42 CFR §§484. 4 -and 
440.70; that are: (a) medically necessary health services; (b) 
ordered by a physician; (c) documented in a plan of care that is 
reviewed and revised as medically necessary by the physician at 
least once every 60 days; and (d) provided to the recipient at his 
or her own place of residence that is a place other than a 
hospital, nursing facility, or intermediate care facility for the 
mentally retarded (ICF/MR) unless skilled nurse visits have bepn 
prior authorized for less than 90 days for a resident at an ICF/MR 
in order to prevent an admission to a hospital or nursing facility 
and is not required to be provided by the facility under 42 CFR 
Part 483, subpart I. 

"Professional nurse" refers to registered nurses and licensed 
practical nurses, all licensed under the Minnesota Nurse Practice 
Act. 

Home health services includes skilled nurse visits provided via 
telehomecare, which is the use of live, two-way interactive 
audiovisual technology that can be augmented using store-and­
forward technologies. Department prior authorization is required 
for telehomecare. 

Department prior authorization is required for home health aide 
visits ~r skilled nurse visits, unless a physician has ordered 
such visits and: 
a) the professional registered nurse determines an immediate 

need for up to 40 home health aide visits or skilled nurse 
visits per calendar year and submits a request to the 
Department for authorization of payment within 20 working 
days of the initial service date, and medical assistance is 
the appropriate payer; or 

b) this is the first through 
during a calendar year. 

the ninth skilled nurse visit 

Department prior authorization is based on medical necessity, 
physician's orders, the recipient's needs, diagnosis, and 
condition, the plan of care, and cost-effectiveness when compared 
with other care options. 
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7. Home health services. (continued) 

The following home health services are not covered under medical 
assistance: 

a)	 home health-services that are the responsibility of the 
foster care provider; 

b)	 home health services when not medically necessary; 

c)	 services to other members of the recipient's household; 

d)	 any home care service included in the daily rate of the 
community-based residential facility in which the recipient 
resides; 

e)	 nursing and rehabilitation therapy services that can 
reasonably be obtained as outpatient services; 

f)	 any home health agency service that is performed in a place 
other than the recipient's residence; 

g)	 more than one horne health aide visit per day; and 

h)	 more than two skilled nurse visits per day. 

Horne health agencies that administer pediatric vaccines as noted 
in item 5.a., Physician's services within the scope if their 
licensure must enroll in the Minnesota Vaccines for Children 
Program. 

Influenza and pneumococcal immunizations for adults are an 
exception to the requirement that home health services be ordered 
by a physician. If there is a standing order for these 
immunizations, they may be administered by a skilled professional 

. nurse per agency policy developed in consultation with a 
physician, and after an assessment for contraindications. 
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7.a	 Intermittent or part-time nursing services provided by a home health 
agency, or by a registered nurse when no home health agency exists in 
the area. 

Covered intermittent or part-time nursing services are those
 
provided by a Medicare-certified home health agency that are:
 

a) medically necessary;
 
b) ordered by a physician;
 
c) documented in a plan of care that is reviewed and revised as
 

medically necessary by the physician at least once every 60 
days; and 

d)	 provided to the recipient at the recipient's own place of 
residence that is a place other than a hospital, nursing 
facility, or intermediate care facility for the mentatly 
retarded (ICF/MR) unless 
skilled nurse visits have been prior authorized for less than 
90 days for a resident at an ICF/MR 
in order to prevent an admission to a hospital or nursing 
facility and is not required to be provided by the facility 
under 42 CFR Part 483, subpart I. 

Homemaker services, social services, educational services, and 
services not prescribed by the physician are not paid by medical 
assistance. 

Home	 health agencies or registered nurses that administer 
pediatric vaccines as not~d in item 5.a., Physicians' services 
within the scope of their licensure must enroll in the Minnesota 
Vaccines for Children Program. 

Influenza and pneumococcal immunizations for adults are an 
exception to the requirement that intermittent or. part-time 
nursing services provided by a home health agency be ordered'by a 
physician. If there is a standing order for these immunizations, 
they	 may be administered by a skilled professional nurse per 
agency policy developed in consultation with a physician, and 
after an assessment for contraindications. 
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8. Private duty nursing services. 

•	 Private duty nursing services are only covered when medically 
necessary, ordered in writing by the physician, and documented in a 
written plan of care that is reviewed and revised as medically 
necessary by the physician at least once every 62 days. 

•	 Private duty nursing service$ are not reimbursable if a skilled nurse 
visit is appropriate, or if a personal care assistant can be utilized. 

•	 Private duty nursing services may also be provided by a parent of a 
minor child, spouse or unpaid legal guardian, who must be a 
professional nurse as defined in item 7, Home Health services on page 
33 of this Attachment, and employed by a licensed private duty nursing 
agency and must be included in the plan of care under direction by the 
physician. 

•	 Private duty nursing services may be provided by a licensed registered 
nurse or licensed practical nurse. who is the recipient's spouse, legal 
guardian, or parent of a minor child, if: 

1)	 the nurse passes a criminal background check; 
2)	 the services are necessary to prevent hosp~talization of the 

recipient; and 
3)	 one of the following are met: 

a the nurse resigns from a part-time or full-time job to 
provide nursing care for the recipient; 
b. the nurse goes from a full-time job to a part-time job 
with less compensation for provide nursing care for the 
recipient; 
c. the nurse takes a leave of absence without pay to provide 
nursing care for the recipient; or 
d. because of labor condition, special language needsL or 
intermittent hours of nursing care needed, the nurse is 
needed in order to provide adequate care to meet the medical 
needs of the recipient. 

•	 Private duty nursing services includes eHtended hour ongoing 
professional nursing services provided by licensed registered nurses or 
licensed practical nurses employed by a Medicare-certified home health 
agency· or self-employed when the recipient requires more individualized 
and continuous care than can be provided during a skilled nurse visit. 

•	 Department prior authorization is required for all private duty nursing 
services. Prior authorization is based on medical necessity; 
physician's orders; the recipient's needs, diagnosis, and condition; an 
assessment of the recipient; the plan of care; and cost-effectiveness 
when compared to alternative care options. For recipients who meet 
hospital admission criteria, the Department shall not authorize more 
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8. Private duty nursing services. (continued) 

than 16 hours per day of private duty nursing service or up to 
24 hours per day of private duty nursing service while a . 
determination of eligibility is made for recipients who are 
applying for services under Minnesota's approved model home and 
community-based services waiver or during an appeal to the 
appropriate regulatory agency to determine if a health benefit 
plan is required to pay for medically necessary nursing 
services. For recipients who do not meet hospital admission 
criteria, the Department may authorize up to 9.75 hours per day 
of private duty nursing service. Authorized private duty 
nursing services provided by a relative may not exceed 50 
percent of the total approved nursing hours, or eight hours a 
day, whichever is less, up to a maximum of 40 hours per week. 

Authorized units of private duty nursing service may be used in 
the recipient's home or outside of the recipient's home if 
normal life activities take the recipient outside of their 
home. To receive private duty nursing services at school, the 
recipient or his or her responsible party must provide written 
authorization in the recipient's care plan identifying the 
chosen provider and the daily amount of services to be used at 
school. 

•	 Private duty nursing providers that are not Medicare certified 
must refer and document the referral of dual eligibles to 
Medicare providers when Medicare is the appropriate payer. 

•	 Recipients may receive shared private duty nursing services, 
defined as nursing services provided by a private duty nurse to 
two recipients at the same time and in the same setting. 
Decisions on the selection of recipients to share private duty 
nursing services must be based on the ages of the recipients, 
compatibility, and coordination of their care needs. ~ 

purposes of this item, "setting" means the home or foster eare 
hOffle of one of the recipients, a ehild care program that is 
licensed by the state or is operated by a 
local school district or private sehool, an adult day ·eare 
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8. Private duty nursing services. (continued) 

that is licensed b J' the state, or outside the home or foster 
care home of one of the recipients v~hen normal lifO activities, 
including attending school, take the recipients outside the 
home. Shared private duty nursing services are allowed only for 
Medicaid recipients who would otherwise be eligible and 
qualified for private duty nursing services in their home or 
foster care home, pursuant to regulations at 42 CFR 440.80. 
When normal life activities, including attending school, take 
the Medicaid recipients sharing p~ivate duty nursing services 
outside the home or foster care home, they may utilize their 
approved hours in a child care program that is licensed by the 
State or operated by a local school district or private school e 
or an adult day care that is licensed by the State. 

The provider must offer the recipient or responsible party the 
option of shared care. If accepted, the recipient or 
responsible party may withdraw participation at any time. 

The private duty nursing agency must document the following in the 
health service record for each recipient sharing care: 

a)	 authorization by the recipient or responsible party for the 
maximum number of shared care hours per week chosen by the 
recipient; 

b) authorization by the recipient or responsible party for
 
shared service provided outside the recipient's homei
 

c) authorization by the recipient or responsible party for
 
others to receive shared care in the recipient's homei 
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8. Private duty nursing services. (continued) 

to	 ensure that the needs of the recipients are 
appropriately and safely met; 

2)	 the setting in which the shared private duty nursing care 
will be provided; 

3)	 the ongoing monitoring and evaluation of the effectiveness 
and appropriateness of the service and process used to 
make changes in service or setting; 

4)	 a contingency plan that accounts for absence of the 
recipient in a shared care setting due to illness or other 
circumstances. The private duty nurse will not be paid if 
the recipient is absent; 

5)	 staffing backup contingencies in the event of employee 
illness or absence; 

6)	 arrangements for additional assistance to respond to 
urgent or emergency care needs of recipients. 

•	 The following services are not covered under medical
 
assistance as private duty nursing services:
 

a)	 private duty nursing services provided by a licensed 
registered nurse or licensed practical nurse \Jho io the 
recipient's spouse, legal guardian, or parent of a minor 
child, unless the following conditions are met: 

lIthe nurse passes a criminal background cheek1 
21the services are necessary to prevent hospitaliEation 
of the recipient I and 
3)one of the following are met: 

a.the nurse resigns from a part time or full time job 
to provide nursing care for the recipient; 

b.the nurse goes from a full time job to a part time 
job with less .compensation for provide nursing care 
for the recipient; 
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8. Private duty nursing services. (continued) 

e. the nurae takes a leave of "absence without pay to 
provide nursing care for the recipient; or 

d.because of labor conditions, special langua~ 

needs, or intermittent hours of nursing care needed, 
the nurse is needed in order to provide adequate to 
meets the medioal needs of the recipient; 

a+ ~ private duty nursing services that are identified in 
the foster care placement agreement to be provided by the 
foster care provider who is a professional nurse as the 
responsibility of the foster care provider; 

e+ ~private duty nursing services when other, more cost­
effective, medically appropriate services are available; 

at ~private duty nursing services provided to a resident of 
a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility, or 
a licensed health care facility; and 

et. Ql private duty nursing services provided by a licensed 
registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who is the 
foster care provider of a recipient who is under age 18. 
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13.d.	 Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

support services: 

1.	 An entity certified by the Department and operated by a county. 

2.	 An entity certified by the Department based on a review and 
recommendation by the host county. 

3.	 A facility of the Indian Health Service or a facility owned or 
operated by a tribe or tribal organization and funded by either 
Title I of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance 
Act, P.L. 93-638, as amended, or Title I of the Indian Self­
Determination and Education Assistance Act, P.L. 106-260, 
operating as a 638 facility. 

Provider Qualifications and Training 

1.	 A mental health practitioner must be qualified in at least one of 
the following ways: 

(a) holds a bachelor's degree in one of the behavioral sciences or 
related fields from an accredited college or university and: 

(i)	 has at least 2,000 hours of supervised experience in the 
delivery of services to persons with mental illness; or 

(ii)	 is fluent in the non-English language of the ethnic group to 
which at least 50 percent of the practitioner's clients 
belong, completes 40 hours of training in the delivery of 
services to persons with mental illness, and receives 
clinical supervision from a ~ental health professional at 
least once a week until the requirement of 2,000 hours of 
supervised experience is met; 
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13.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

(b) has at least 6,000 hours of supervised experience in the 
delivery of services to persons wi~h mental illness; 

(c) is a graduate student in one of the behavioral sciences or 
related fields and is formally assigned by an accredited college or 
university to an agency or facility for clinical training; o~ 

(d) holds a master's or other graduate degree in one of the 
behavioral sciences or related _fields from an accredited college or 
university and has less than 4,000 hours post-master's experience in 
the treatment of mental illness. 

A mental health practitioner must receive ongoing 
continuing education training as required by the practitioner's 
professional license; or, if not licensed, a mental health 
practitioner must receive ongoing continuing education training of 
at least 30 hours every two years in areas of mental illness and 
mental health services. 

2. A mental health rehabilitation worker must: 
A. Be at least 21 years of age; 

B. Have a high school diploma or equivalent; 

C. Have successfully completed 30 hours of training during the past two 
years covering recipient rights, recipient-centered individual treatment 
planning, behavioral terminology, mental illness, co-occurring mental 
illness and substance abuse, psychotropic medications and side effects, 
functional assessment, local community resources, adult vulnerability, 
and recipient confidentiality; and 

D. Meet the qualifications in (1) or (2) below: 
(1) Have an associate of arts degree in one of the behavioral sciences 
or human services, be a registered nurse without a bachelor's degree, or 
within the previous ten years: 
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I3.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

Components of Mental Health Community Support Services 

A mental health professional, a mental health practitioner under the 
clinical supervision of a mental health professional, and a mental health 
rehabilitation worker under the direction of a mental health professional 
or mental health practitioner and under the clinical supervision ofa 
mental health professional must be capable of providing the following ~ 

three components. A mental health professional means an individual 
defined in item 6.d;A. or an individual who: 1) has a master's degree 
from an accredited college or university in one of the behavioral 
sciences or related fields, with at least 4,000 hours of post-master's 
supervised experience in the delivery of clinical services in the 
treatment of mental illness; and 2) holds a current and valid national 
certification as a certified rehabilitation counselor or certified 
psychosocial rehabilitation practitioner. 

1.	 Basic living and social skills, which may include: 
A. Communication skills. 
B. Budgeting and shopping skills. 
C. Healthy lifestyle skills. 
D. Household management skills. 
E. Transportation skills .. 
F. Medication monitoring. 
G.	 Crisis assistance skills, including relapse prevention 

skills and developing a. health care document. 

2.	 Consultation with relatives, guardians, friends, 
employers, treatment providers, and other significant people, in 
order to change situa~ions and allow the recipient to function 
more independently. The consultation must be directed exclusively 
to the treatment of the recipient. 

3.	 A physician, physician assistant, pharmacist and registered nurse 
must be capable of providing medication education. Medication 
education .includes training the recipient in the symptoms of 
mental illness, discussing the benefits and side effects of 
psychotropic medication, and discussing the 
importance of medication compliance. Medical education 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. 

Personal care assistant services are provided by personal care 
provider organizations or by use of the PCA Choice option. 

A.	 Personal care provider organizations 

Personal care services provider qualifications: 

•	 Personal care assistants must be employees of or under 
contract with a personal care provider organization or a 
fiscal intermediary (PCA Choice) 

•	 If a recipient's diagnosis or condition 9hanges, 
requiring a level of care beyond that which can be 
provided by a personal care provider, non-Medicare 
certified personal care providers must refer and document 
the referral of dual eligibles to Medicare providers (when 
Medicare is the appropriate payer) . 

•	 Personal care assistant means a person who: 

a)	 is at least 18 years old, except for persons 16 to 18 
years of age who participated in a related school­
based job training program or have completed a 
certified home health aide competency evaluation; 

b)	 is able to effectively communicate with the 
recipient and the personal care provider 
organization; 

c)	 is able to and provides covered pers6nal 
care assistant services according to the 
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26.	 Personal care assistant ?ervices. (continued) 

recipient's plan of care, responds appropriately to 
the recipient's needs, and reports changes in the 
recipient's conditions to the physician or the 
supervising qualified professional if supervision is 
requested by the recipient. For the purpose5 of this 
item, "qualified professional" means a registered 
nurse, a mental health professional defined in item 
6.d.A. of this attachment, or licensed social worker; 

d)	 is not a consumer of personal care 
assistant services; 

e)	 is subject to criminal background checks and 
procedures specified in the state human services 
licensing act; and 

f)	 maintains daily written records for each recipient 
detailing the services provided and the amount of 
time spent providing the services. 

Personal care provider organization means an entity 
enrolled to provide personal care assistant services under 
medical assistance that complies with the following: 

a)	 owners who have a five percent interest or more, and 
managerial officials are subject to a background 
study. This applies to currently enrolled personal 
care provider organizations and those entities 
seeking to enroll as a personal care provider 
organization. Effective November 10, 1997, an 
organization is barred from enrollment if an owner or 
managerial official of the organization has been 
convicted of a crime 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

specified in the state human services licensing act, 
or a comparable crime in another jurisdiction, unless 
the owner or managerial official meets the . 
reconsideration criteria specified in the state human 
services licensing act; 

b) the organization must maintain a surety bond and 
liability insurance throughout the duration of 
enrollment and provide proof thereof. The insurer 
must notify the Department of the cancellation or 
lapse of. policy; 

c) the organization must maintain the required statutory 
documentation of personal care assistant services in 
a recipient file, as well as evidence of compliance 
with personal care assistant training requirements 
and all notices to recipients regarding personal care 
assistant service use at a rate likely to exhaust 
authorized hours prior to the end of the 
authorization period; 

d) the organization must communicate with the recipient 
or responsible party about the schedule for use of 
authorized hours; and 

e) the organization must notify the recipient and county 
public health nurse in advance, on a Department form, 
if the monthly number of authorized hours is likely 
to exhaust the authorized hours prior to the end of 
the authorization period. 

f) the organization shall comply with all laws and rules 
governing the provision of personal care assistant 
services. 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 
B.	 PCA Choice option 

PCA Choice is a consumer directed personal care service choice. 
The PCA Choice option allows the recipient to recruit, hire, 
terminate, train and supervise personal care assistants. Under 
this option, the recipient and qualified profeosional do not 
require professional delegation. 

"Responsible partyU means an individual who is capable of 
providing the support necessary to assist the recipient to live in 
the community, is at least 18 years old, actively participates in 
planning and directing of personal care services and is not the 
personal care assistant. 

"Qualified professional" means a registered nurse, mental health 
professional or licensed social worker providing supervision of 
personal care services and staff~ 

• The recipient or responsible party: 

a)	 uses a PCA Choice provider, not a personal care provider 
organization. A PCA Choice provider assists the recipient to 
account for covered personal care assistant services. A PCA 
Choice provider is considered a joint employer of the 
qualified professional described in item A and the personal 
care assistant, and may not be related to the recipient, 
qualified professional, or personal care assistant. A PCA 
Choice provider or owner of the entity providing PCA Choice 
services must pass a criminal background check according to 
the state human services licensing act; 

b)	 if a qualified professional is requested, uses a qualified 
professional for help in developing and revising a service 
plan to meet the recipient's needs, as assessed by the public 
health nurse; 

c)	 supervises the personal care assistant if the recipient or 
responsible party does not want a qualified professional to 
supervise the personal care assistant; 

d)	 if the recipient or responsible party wants a qualified 
professional to supervise the personal care assistant, 
verifies and documents the credentials of the qualified 
professional, and then recruits, hires and, if necessary, 
terminates the qualified professional; 
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26. Personal care services. (continued) 

e) recruits, hires and, if necessary, 
personal care assistant; 

terminates the 

f} with assistance from the qualified professional, 
orients and trains the pers~nal care assistant; 

g) with assistance as needed from the qualified 
professional or the recipient's physician, supervises 
and evaluates the personal care assistant; 

h) monitors and verifies in writing the number of hours 
worked by the qualified professional and the personal 
care assistant; and 

i) together with the PCA Choice provider, qualified 
professional, and personal care assistant, enters 
into a written agreement before services begin. 

The agreement must include: 

1) the duties of the recipient, PCA Choice 
provider, qualified professional, and 
personal care assistant; 

2) the salary and benefits for the qualified 
professional and personal care assistant; 

3) the administrative fee of the PCA Choice 
provider and services paid for with that 
including background checks; 

fee, 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

4) procedures to respond 
complaints; and 

to billing or payment 

5). procedures for hiring and terminating the 
qualified professional and personal care 
assistant. 

The PCA Choice provider: 

a) enrolls in medical assistance; 

b) requests and secures background checks on 
qualified professionals and personal care 
assistants according to the state human services 
licensing act; 

c) bills for personal care 
professional services; 

assistant and qualified 

d) pays the qualified professional and personal 
care assistant based on actual hours of services 
provided; 

e) withholds and 
state taxes; 

pays all applicable federal and 

f) makes the arrangements and pays unemployment 
insurance, taxes, workers' compensation, 
liability insurance, and other benefits, if'any; 

g) maintains the required statutory documentation 
of personal care.assistant services in a 
recipient file, as well as evidence of 
compliance with personal care assistant training 
requirements and all notice to recipients 
regarding personal care 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

assistant service use at a rate likely to 
exhaust_authorized hours prior to the end of the 
authorization period; and 

h)	 ensures arm's length transactions with the 
recipient and personal care assistant. 

i) the organization shall comply with all laws and 
rules governing the provision of personal care 
assistant services. 

At a minimum, qualified professionals visit the 
recipient in the recipient's home at least once every 
year. Qualified professionals report to the appropriate 
authorities any suspected abuse, neglect, or financial 
exploitation of the recipient. 

As part of the assessment and reassessment process in 
item	 6.d.B. of this attachment, the follo~ing must be 
met to use, or continue to use, a peA Choice provider: 

a)	 the recipient must be able to direct the 
recipient's own care, or the responsible party 
for the recipient must be readily available to 
direct the care of the personal care assistant; 

b)	 the recipient or responsible party must be 
knowledgeable of the health care needs of the 
recipient and be able to effectively communicate 
those needs; 

c) effective August 1, 2002, the recipient who 
receives shared personal care assistant services 
(shared services) must use the same PCA Choice 
provider; and 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

d)	 a service update cannot be used in lieu of an 
annual reassessment. 

Authorization to use the peA Choice option will be 
denied, revoked, or suspended if: 

a)	 the public health nurse or qualified 
professional as defined in item 26 on page 78c 
of Attachment 3.1-A determines that use of this 
option jeopardizes the recipient/s health and 
safety; 

b)	 the parties do not comply with the written 
agreement; or 

c)	 the use of the option results in abusive or 
fraudulent billing. 

The recipient or responsible party may appeal this 
decision. A denial, revocation or suspension will not 
affect the recipient's authorized level of personal care 
assistant services. 

c. Amount, duration and scope of personal care assistant 
services: 

Department prior authorization is required for all 
personal care assistant services and supervision 
services l if supervision is requested by the recipient 
or responsible party. Prior authorization is based on 
the physician's statement of need; the recipient's 
needs, diagnosis, and condition; an assessment of the 
recipient; primary payer coverage determination 
information as required; the service plan; and cost 
effectiveness when compared to other care options. The 
Department may authorize up to the following amounts of 
personal care assistant services: 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services, (continued) 

a)	 up to 2 times the average number of direct care 
hours provided in nursing facilities for the 
recipient's comparable case mix level; 

b)	 up to 3 times the average number of direct care 
hours provided in nursing facilities for recipients 
with complex medical needs, or who are dependent in 
at least seven activities of daily living and need 
either physical assistance with eating or have a 
neurological diagnosis; 

c)	 up to 60 percent of the average payment rate for 
care provided in a regional treatment center for 
recipients who exhibit, or that without 
supervision, observation, or redirection would 
exhibit, one or more of the following behaviors: 

1)	 self-inj ury; 

2)	 ~hysical injury to others; or 

3)	 destruction of property; 

d)	 up to the amount medical assistance would pay for 
care provided in a regional treatment center for 
recipients referred by a regional treatment center 
preadmission evaluation team; or 

e)	 up to the amount medical assistance would pay for 
facility care for recipients referred by a long 
term care consultation team; and 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

f) a	 reasonable amount of time for the provision of 
supervision of personal care 
assistant services, if a qualified professional is 
requested by the recipient or responsible party. 

•	 "Department prior authorization is also required if more 
than two reassessments to determine a' recipient's need for 
personal care assistant services are needed during a 
calendar year. 

•	 Personal care assistant services must be 
provided pursuant to a physician's statement 
of need. The statement of need must include the 
diagnosis or condition of the recipient and be updated 
when the recipient's medical condition requires a change, 
"but	 at least annually if the need for services is ongoing. 
The service plan must be reviewed and revised as medically 
necessary at least once every 365 days. 

For	 personal care assistant services: 

a)	 effective July 1, 1996, the amount and type of 
service authorized based upon the assessment and 
service plan will follow the recipient if the 
recipient chooses to change providers; 

b}	 efrective July 1, 1996, if the recipient's medical 
need changes, the recipient's provider may request a 
change in service authorization; and 

c)	 as of July I, 1998, in order to continue to 
receive personal care assistant services after the 
first year, the recipient or the responsible party, 
in conjunction with the public health 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

nurse, may complete a service update on forms 
developed by the Department. If a service update is 
completed, it substitutes for the annual reassessment 
described in item 6.d.B. of this attachment, except 
that	 PCA Choice consumers must have a face-to-face 
assessment at least annually. 

•	 Recipients or responsible parties utilizing either peA 
Choice or PCA provider organizations have the choice to 
request qualified professional supervision or to supervise 
the PCA themselves. A reasonable amount of time for the 
provision of supervision shall be authorized: 

Personal care assistant services are provided for 
recipients who live in their own home if their own home is 
not a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care 
facility for the mentally retarded (ICF!MR), institution 
for mental disease, or licensed health care facility. 

•	 Recipients may use approved units of service outside the 
home when normal life. activities take them outside the 
home. Effective July 1, 1996, total hours for personal 
care assistant services, whether performed inside or 
outside a recipient's home, cannot exceed that which is 
otherwise allowed for personal care assistant services in 
an in-home setting. 

•	 Recipients may receive shared personal care 
assistant services (shared services), defined as 
providing personal care assistant services by a 
personal care assistant to two or three recipients at the 
same time and in the same setting. For purposes of this 
item, "setting" means the home or foster care home of one 
of the recipients, a child care program in 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

which all recipients served by one personal care 
assistant are participating, which has state licensure or 
is operated by a local school district or private school, 
or outside the horne or foster care horne when normal life 
activities take recipients outside the horne or foster care 
horne. The provider must offer the recipient or responsible 
party the option of shared services; if accepted, the 
recipient or responsible 
party may withdraw participation in shared services at any 
time. 

If supervision of a personal care assistant by a 
qualified professional is requested by anyone of the 
recipients or responsible parties, the supervision duties 
of the qualified professional are limited to only those 
recipients who requested the supervision. In addition to 
the documentation requirements for personal care provider 
service records in state rule, a personal care provider 
must meet documentation 
requirements for shared services and must document the 
following in the health service record for each recipient 
sharing services: 

a) permission by the recipient or responsible party for 
.the maximum number of shared services hours per week 
chosen by the recipient: 

b)	 permission by the recipient or responsible party for 
personal care assistant services provided outside the 
recipient's home; 

c)	 permission by the recipient or responsible party for 
others to receive shared services in the recipient's 
horne; 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

d)	 revocation by the recipient or responsible party of 
the shared service authorization, or the shared 
service to be provided to others in the recipient's 
home, or the shared services to be provided outside 
the recipient's home; 

e)	 if a qualified professional is requested by anyone 
of the recipients or responsible parties, supervision
of the shared personal care assistant services ~y the 
qualified professional, including the date, time of 
day, number of hours spent supervising the provision 
of shared services, whether the supervision was face­
to-face or another method of supervision, changes in 
the 
recipient's condition, and shared services 
scheduling issues and recommendations; 

f)	 if a qualified professional is requested by anyone 
of the recipients or responsible parties, 
documentation by the qualified professional of 
telephone calls or other discussions with the 
personal care assistant regarding servic~s being 
provided to the recipient; and 

g)	 daily documentation of the shared services 
provided by each identified personal care 
assistant including: 

1)	 the names of each recipient receiving shared 
services together; 

2)	 the setting for the shared services, 
including the starting and ending times that the 
recipient received shared services; and 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

3)	 notes by the personal c~re assistant 
regarding changes in the recipient's 
condition, problems that may arise from the 
sharing of services, scheduling issues, care. 
issues, and other notes as required by the 
qualified professional, if a qualified 
professional is requested by anyone of the 
recipients or responsible parties .. 

In order to receive shared services: 

a}	 the recipient or responsible party, in 
conjunction with the county public health nurse, must 
determine: 

l}	 whether shared services is an appropriate 
option based on the individual needs and 
preferences of the recipient; and 

2)	 the amount of shared services allocated as 
part of the overall authorization of 
personal care assistant services; 

b)	 the recipient or responsible party, in 
conjuncti6n with the supervising qualified 
professional (if a qualified professional is 
requested by anyone of the recipients or 
responsible parties), must arrange the setting and 
grouping of shared services based on the individual 
needs and preferences of the recipients; 

c)	 the recipient or responsible party, and the 
supervising qualified professional (if a 
qualified professional is requested by anyone of the 
recipients or responsible parties), must 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

consider and document in the recipient's health 
service record:	 0 

1)	 the additional qualifications needed by the 
personal care assistant to provide care to several 
recipients in the same.setting; 

2)	 the additional training and supervision 
needed by the personal care assistant to ensure 
that the needs of the recipient are appropriately 
and safely met. If supervision by a qualified 
professional is requested by anyone of the 
recipients or responsible parties, the provider 
must provide on-site supervision by a qualified 
professional within the first 14 days of shared 
services, and monthly thereafter; 

3)	 the setting in which the shared 
services will be provided; 

4)	 the ongoing monitoring and evaluation of the 
effectiveness and appropriateness of the service 
and process used to make changes in service or 
setting; and 

5)	 a contingency plan that accounts for absence of the 
recipient in a shared services setting due to 
illness or other circumstances and staffing 
contingencies. 

•	 The following personal care assistant services are covered 
under medical assistance as personal care assistant 
services: 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

a)	 services and supports that assist in accomplishing 
activities of daily living. "Activities of daily 
living" include eating, toileting, grooming, 
dressing, bathing, transferring, mobility, and 
positioning; 

b)	 services and supports that assist in 
accomplishing instrumental activities of daily 
living. "Instrumental activities of daily living" 
include meal planning and preparation, managing 
finances, shopping for food, clothing and other 
essential items, performing essential household 
chores, communication by telephone and other media, 
and participating in the community; 

c)	 services and supports that assist in health-
related functions through hands-on assistance, 
supervision, and cuing. "Health-related functions" 
means services that can be delegated or assigned by a 
licensed health care professional to be performed by 
a personal care assistant. These are provided under 
the supervision of a qualified professional or the 
direction of the recipient's physician; and 

d)	 r~direction and intervention for behavior 
including observation and monitoring. 

•	 A recipient may choose the flexible use option, which is 
the scheduled use of authorized hours of personal care 
assistant services, which vary within a service 
authorization period of up to six months. Authorized 
hours not used within the six-month period may not be 
carried over to another time period. 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

Under the flexible use .option: 

a)	 a recipient or responsible party, the public 
health nurse, and, if the recipient is receiving case 
management services, the case manager, determine 
whether the flexible use option is appropriate. 

b)	 if appropriate, the persons listed in item a) must 
ensure that the allocation of hours covers the 
ongoing needs of the recipient over an entire year 
divided into two six-month periods of flexible use. 

c)	 the Department will not ~uthorize additional services 
to supplement a service authorization that is 
exhausted before the end date under this option, 
unless the public health nurse determines a change in 
condition and a need for increased services is 
established. 

d)	 the personal care provider organization and the 
recipient or responsible party, or the PCA Choice 
provider, must develop a written month-to-month plan 
of the projected use of personal care assistant 
services that is part of the care plan and ensures: 

1)	 that the health and safety needs of the 
recipient will be met; 

2)	 that the total annual authorization will not be 
used before the end of the authorization period; 
and 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

3) monthly monitoring will be conducted of 
hours used as a percentage of the authorized 
amount. 

e) the provider must notify the recipient or 
responsible party, the pUblic health nurse, and any 
case manager in advance, on a Department form, if the 
monthly amount of hours used is likely to exhaust 
authorized hours prior to the end of th~ 

authorization period. 

f) the Department will provide written notice to the 
provider, the recipient or responsible party, the 
pUblic health nurse, and any case manager, when a 
flexible use recipient exceeds the month-to-month 
projected use of personal care assistant services as 
determined by the Department. If the use of hours 
exceeds the monthly service authorization by this 
amount for two months during any three-month period, 
the Department will notify the recipient and the 
public health nurse that the flexible use 
authorization will be revoked beginning the following 
month. However, this revocation is not implemented 
lf, within ten working days of the Department's 
notice, the public health nurse requests prior 
authorization (which cannot exceed 45 days) for a 
temporary increase in the service authorization or 
continuation of the flexible use option, or the 
recipient appeals and services pending appeal ±B are 
ordered. The denial or revocation of the flexible 
use option does not affect the 
recipiept's authorized level of personal care 
assistant services. 

g) the recipient or responsible party may stop the 
flexible use of hours at any time. 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

• The following services are not covered under medical 
assistance as personal care assistant services: 

a)	 health services provided and billed by a provider who is 
not an enrolled personal care provider; 

b)	 personal care assistant services that are provided by 
the recipient's spouse, legal guardian, parent of a 
recipient under age 18, or the recipient's responsible 
party; 

c)	 effective July 1, 1996, services provided by a 
foster care provider of a recipient who cannot 
direct his or her own care, unless a county or 
state case manager visits the recipient as 
needed, but not less than every six months, to 
monitor the health and safety of the recipient 
and to ensure the goals of the care plan are met; 

d)	 services provided by the residential or program 
license holder in a residence for more than 
four persons; 

e)	 services that are the responsibility of a 
residential or Rrogram license holder under the 
terms of a service agreement and administrative 
rules; 

f)	 sterile procedures; 

g)	 giving of .injections of fluids into veins, 
muscles, or skin; 

h)	 homemaker services that are not an integral 
part of a personal care assistant service; 

i)	 home maintenance or chore services; 
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26. Personal care assistan-E- services. (continued) 

j) personal care assistant services when the number of foster care 
residents is greater than four; 

k)	 personal care assistant services when other, more cost­
effective, medically appropriate services are available; 

1)	 services not specified as covered under medical 
assistance as personal care assistant services; 

m)	 effective January 1, 1996, assessments by
 
personal care provider organizations or by
 
independently enrolled registered nurses;
 

n)	 effective July 1, 1996, services when the 
responsible party is an employee of, or under contract with, or 
has any direct or indirect financial relationship with the 
personal care provider or personal care assistant, unless case 
management is provided (applies to foster care settings); 

0)	 effective January 1, 1996, personal care assistant services that 
are not in the service plan; 

p)	 home care services to a recipient who is eligible for Medicare 
covered home care services (including hospice), if elected by 
the recipient, or any other insurance held by the recipient; 

q)	 services to other members of the recipient's household; 

r)	 any home care service included in the daily rate of the 
community-based residential facility where the recipient 
resides; 

s)	 personal care assistant services that are provided without a 
physician's statement of need in the personal care provider 
agency's or PCA Choice provider's recipient file; or 

t) services not authorized by the commissioner or the 
commissioner's designee. 
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7.	 Home health services. 

Covered home health services are those provided by a Medicare 
certified home health agency that complies with 42 CFR §~~84.4 

and 440. 70, that are: (a) medically necessary health services; 
(b) ordered by a physician; (c) documented in a plan of care 
that is reviewed and revised as medically necessary by the 
physician at least once every 60 days; and (d) provided to the 
recipient at his or her own place of residence that is a place 
other than a hospital, nursing facility, or intermediate care 
facility for the mentally retarded (ICF/MR) unless skilled 
nurse visits have been prior authorized for less than 90 days 
for a resident at an ICF/MR in order to prevent an admission 
to a hospital or nursing facility and is not required to be 
provided by the facility under 42 CFR Part 483, subpart I. 

~Professional nurse" refers to registered nurses and licensed 
practical nurses, all licensed under the Minnesota Nurse 
Practice Act. 

Home health services includes skilled nurse visits provided 
via telehomecare 1 which is the use of live, two-way 
interactive audiovisual technology that can be augmented using 
store-and-forward technologies. Department prior 
authorization is required for telehomecare. 

Department prior authorization is required for home health 
aide visits or skilled nurse visits, unless a physician has 
ordered such visits and: 
a) the professional registered nurse determines an immediate 

need	 for up to 40 home health aide visits or skilled 
nurse visits per calendar year and submits a request to 
the Department for authorization of payment within 20 
working days of the initial service date, and medical 
assistance is the appropriate payer; or 

b)	 this is the first through the ninth skilled nurse visit 
during a calendar year. 

Department prior authorization is based on medical necessity, 
physician's orders, the recipient's needs, diagnosis, and 
condition, the plan of care, and cost-effectiveness when 
compared with other care options. 
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7. Home health services. (continued) 

The following home health services are not covered under 
medical assistance: 

a)	 home health services that are the responsibility of the 
foster care provider; 

b)	 home health services when not medically necessary; 

c)	 services to other members of the recipient's household; 

d)	 any home care service included in the daily rate of the 
community-based residential facility in which the 
recipient resides; 

e)	 nursing and rehabilitation therapy services that can 
reasonably be obtained as outpatient services; 

f)	 any home health agency service that is performed in a 
place other than the recipient's residence; 

g)	 more than one home health aide visit per day; and 

h)	 more than two skilled nurse visits per day. 

Horne	 health agencies that administer pediatric vaccines as 
noted in item 5.a., Physician's services within the scope if 
their licensure must enroll in the Minnesota Vaccines for 
Children Program. 

Influenza and pneumococcal immunizations for adults are an 
exception to the requirement that home health services be 
ordered by a physician. If there is a standing order for 
these immunizations, they may be administered by a skilled 
professional _nurse per agency policy developed in consultation 
with a physician, and after an assessment for 
contraindications. 
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7.a	 Intermittent or part-time nursing services provided by a home 
health agency, or by a registered nurse when no home health agency 
exists in the area. 

Covered intermittent or part-time nursing services are those
 
provided by a Medicare-certified home health agency that are:
 

a) medically necessary;
 
b) ordered by a physician;
 
c) documented in a plan of care that is reviewed and revised
 

as medically necessary by the physician at least once 
every 60 days; and 

d)	 provided to the recipient at the recipient's own place of 
residence that is a place other than a hospital, nursing 
facility, or intermediate care facility for the mentally 
retarded (ICF/MR) unless 
skilled nurse visits' have been prior authorized for less 
than 90 days for a resident at an ICF/MR 
in order to prevent an admission to a hospital or nursing 
facility and is not required to be provided by the 
facility under 42 CFR Part 483, subpart I. 

Homemaker services, social services, educational services, and 
services not prescribed by the physician are not paid by 
medical assistance. 

Home health agencies or registered nurses that administer 
pediatric vaccines as noted in item 5.a., Physicians' services 
within the scope of their licensure must enroll in the 
Minnesota Vaccines for Children Program. 

Influenza and pneumococcal immunizations for adults are an 
exception to the requirement that intermittent or part-time 
nursing services provided by a home health agency be ordered 
by a physician. If there is a standing order for these 
immunizations, they may be administered by a skilled 
professional nurse per agency policy developed in 
consultation with a~physician, and after an assessment for 
contraindications. 
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8. Private duty nursing services. 

•	 Private duty nursing services are only covered when medically 
necessary, ordered in writing by the physician, and documented in a 
written plan of care that is reviewed and r~vised as medically 
necessary by the physician at least once every 62 days. 

•	 Private duty nursing services are not reimbursable if a skilled nurse 
visit is appropriate, or if a personal care assistant can be utilized. 

•	 Private duty nursing services may also be provided by ~ parent of a 
minor child, spouse or unpaid legal guardian, who must be a 
professional nurse as defined in item 7, 'Home Health services on page 
32 of this Attachment, and employed by a licensed private duty nursing 
agency and must be included in the plan of care under direction by the 
physician. 

•	 Private duty nursing services may be provided by a licensed registered 
nurse or licensed practical nurse who is the recipient's spouse, legal 
guardian, or parent of a minor child, if: 
l)the nurse passes a criminal background check; 
2)the services are necessary to prevent ho~pitalization of the 
recirient; and 
3)one of the following are met: 

a. the nurse resigns from a part-time or full-time job to provide 
nursing care for the recipient; 
b. the nurse goes from a full-time job to' a part-time job with 
less compensation for provide nursing care for the recipient; 
c. the nurse takes a leave of absence without pay to provide 
nursing care for the recipient; or 
d. because of labor condition, special language needs, or 
intermittent hours of nursing care needed, the nurse is nee~ed in 
order to provide adequate care to meet the medical needs of the 
recipient. 

•	 Private duty nursing services includes extended hour ongoing 
professional nursing services provided by licensed registered nurses or 
licensed practical nurses employed by a Medicare-certified home health 
agency or self-employed when the recipient requires more individualized 
and continuous care than can be provided during a skilled nurse visit. 

•	 Department prior author~zation is required for all private duty nursing 
services. Prior authorization is based on medical necessity; 
physician's orders; the recipient's needs, diagnosis, and condition; an 
assessment of the recipient; the plan of care; and cost-effectiveness 
when compared to alternative care options. For recipients who meet 
hospital admission criteria, the Department shall not authorize more 
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8. Private duty nursing services. (continued) 

than 16 hours per day of private duty nursing service or up to 
24 hours per day of private duty nursing service while a 
determination of eligibility is made for recipients who are 
applying for services under Minnesota's approved model home and 
community-based serv~ces waiver or during an appeal to the 
appropriate regulatory agency to determine if a health benefit 
plan is required to pay for medically necessary nursing 
services. For recipients who do not meet hospital admission 
criteria, the Department may authorize up to 9.75 hours per day 
of private duty nursing service. Authorized private duty 
nursing services provided by a relative may not exceed 50 
percent of the total approved nursing hours, or eight hours a 
day, whichever is less, up to a maximum of 40 hours per week. 

Authorized units of private duty nursing service may be used in 
the recipientrs home or outside of the recipient's home if 
normal life activities take the recipient outside of their 
home. To receive private duty nursing services at school, the 
recipient or his or her responsible party must provide written 
authorization in the recipient's care plan identifying the 
chosen provider and the daily amount of services to be used at 
school. 

•	 Private duty nursing providers that are not Medicare certified 
must refer and document the referral of dual eligibles to 
Medicare providers when Medicare is the appropriate payer. 

•	 Recipients may receive shared private duty nursing services, 
defined as nursing services provided by a private duty nurse to 
two recipients at the same time and in the same setting. 
Decisions on the selection of recipients to share private duty 
nursing services must be based on the ages of the recipients, 
compatibility, and co()rdination of their care needs. ~ 

purposes of this item, "oetting" means the home or foster care 
hOffle of one of the recipients, a child care program that is 
licensed by the state or is operated by a 
local school district or private school, an adult day care 
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8. Private duty nursing services. (continued) 

that is licensed by the state, or outside the home or foster 
care home of one of the recipients when normal life activities, 
including attending school, take the recipients outside the 
home. Shared private duty nursing services are allowed only for 
Medicaid recipients who would otherwise be eligible and 
qualified for private duty nursing services in their home or 
foster Cqre home, pursuant to regulations at 42 CFR 440.80. 
~hen normal life activities, including attending school, take 
the Medicaid recipients sharing private duty nursing services 
outside the home or foster care horne, they may utilize their 
approved hours in a child care program that is licensed by the 
State or operated by a ~ocal school district or private school, 
or an adult day care ~hat is licensed by the State. 

The provider must offer the recipient or responsible party the 
option of shared care. If accepted, the recipient or 
responsible party may withdraw participation at any time. 

The private duty nursing agency must document the following in the 
health service record for each recipient sharing care: 

a) authorization by the recipient or responsible party for the 
maximum number of shared care hours per week chosen by the 
recipient; 
b) authorization by the recipient or responsible party for 
shared service provided outside the recipient's home; 
c) authorization by the recipient or responsible party for 
others to receive shared care in the recipient's home; 
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8. Private duty nursing services. (continued) 

to ensure that the needs of the recipients are 
appropriately and safely met; 

2}the setting in which the shared private duty nursing care 
will be provided; 

3)	 the ongoing monitoring and evaluation of the effectiveness 
and appropriateness of the service and process used to 
make changes in service or setting; 

4)	 a contingency plan that accounts for absence of the 
recipient in a shared care setting due to illness or other 
circumstances. The private duty nurse will not be paid if 
thc recipient is absent; 

5)	 staffing backup contingencies in the event of employee 
illness or absence; 

6)	 arrangements for additional assistance to respond to 
urgent or emergency care needs of recipients. 

•	 The following services are not covered under medical
 
assistance as private duty nursing services:
 

a)private duty nursing services provided by a licen&ee 
registered nurse or lieenaed practical nurse who is the 
rccipientls spouse, legal guardian, or parent of a mi~ 

ehild, unless the fol.lm:ing conditions are met: 
{) the nurse passes a criminal background check; 
2) the services are necessary to prevent hospitalization of 

the recipient; and 
3) one of the following are met: 

a)thc nurse resigns from a part timc or full time job 
~~ provide nursing care for the recipient; 

b) the nurse goes from a full time job to a part time 
job ~~ith less compensation for provide nursing eare 
for the recipient! 
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8. Private duty nursing services. (continued) 

Glthe nurse takes a leave of absence without pay to 
provide nurding care for the recipient; or 
d)because of labor eonditionsl special language needs, or 
±fr~ermittent hours of nursingeare needed, the nurse io 
needed in order to provide adequate to meets the medical 
needs of the recipient; 

bt ~ private duty nursing services that are identified in 
the foster care placement agreement to be provided by th~ 

foster care provider who is a professional nurse as the 
responsibility of the foster care provider; 

B+ ~private duty nursing services when other, more cost­
effective, medically appropriate services are available; 

at ~private duty nursing services provided to a resident of 
a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility, or 
a licensed health care facility; and 

€8- Ql private duty nursing services provided by a licensed 
registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who is the 
foster care provider of a recipient who is under age 18. 
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13.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

support services: 

1.	 An entity certified by the Department and operated by a county. 

2.	 An entity certified by the Department based on a review and 
recommendation by the host county. 

3.	 A facility of the Indian Health Service or a facility owned or 
operated by a tribe or tribal organization and funded by either 
Title I of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance 
Act, P.L. 93-638, as amended, or Title I of the Indian Self­
Determination and Education Assistance Act, P.L. 106-260, 
operating as a 638 facility. 

Provider Qualifications and Training 

1.	 A mental health practitioner must be qualified in at. lea"-s=--t-=-----~__=o...;;n.;...e_o.=...=.f 

the follo~ing ways: 

(a) holds a bachelor's degree in one.2£ the behavioral sciences or 
related fields from an accredited college or university and: 

(i)	 has at least 2,000 hours of supervised experience in the 
delivery of services to persons with mental illnes~~ or 

(ii)	 is fluent in the non-English language of the ethnic group to 
which at least 50 percent of the practitioner's clients 
belong, completes 40 hours of training in the delivery of 
services to persons with mental illness, and receives 
£~inical supervision from a mental heal~rofessional at 
least once a week until the requirement of 2,000 hours of 
supervised experience is met; 
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13.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

lJ::>L~~as at least_6, 000 hours of supervised experience in the 
delive~y of services to persons with mental illness; 

(c) is a graduate student in one of the behavioral sciences or 
related fields and is formally assigned by an accredited college or 
university to an agency or facility fo~ clj.nical training; or 

(d) holds a master's or other graduate degree in one of the 
behavioral sciences or related fields from an accredited college or 
university and has less than 4,000 hours post-master's_experienc~n 
the treatment of mental illness. 

A mental health practitioner must receive ongoing 
continuing education training as required by the practitioner's 
professional license; or, if not licensed, a mental health 
practitioner must receive ongoing continuing education training of 
at least 30 hours every two years in areas of mental illness and 
mental health services. 

2. A mental health rehabilitation worker must: 
A. Be at least 21 years of age; 

B. Have a high school diploma or equivalent; 

C. Have successfully completed 30 hours of tr~ining during the past two 
years covering recipient rights, recipient-centered individual treatment 
planning, behavioral terminology, mental illness, co-occurring mental 
illness and substance abuse, psychotropic medications and side effects, 
functional assessment, local community resources, adult vulnerability, 
and recipient confidentiality; and 

D. Meet the qualifications in (1) or (2) below: 
(1) Have an associate of arts degree in one of the behavioral sciences 
or human services, be a registered nurse without a bachelor's 
degree, or within the previous ten years: 
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Components of Mental Health Community Support Services 
A mental health professional, a mental health practitioner under 
the clinical supervision of a mental health professional, and a 
mental health rehabilitation worker under the direction of a 
mental health professional or mental health practitioner and 
under the clinical supervision of a mental health professionaf 
must be capable of providing the following ~ three components. 
A mental health professional means an individual defined 'in item 
6.d.A. or an individual who: 1) has a master's degree from an 
accredited college or university in one of the behavioral 
sciences or related fields, with at least 4,000 hours of post­
master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 
services in the treatment of mental illness; and 2) holds a 
current and valid national certification as a certified 
rehabilitation counselor or certified psychosocial rehabilitation 
practitioner. 

1.	 Basic living and social skills, which may include: 
A.	 Communication skills. 
B.	 Budgeting and shopping skills. 
C.	 Healthy lifestyle skills. 
D.	 Household management skills. 
E.	 Transportation skills. 
F.	 Medication monitoring. 
G.	 Crisis assistance skills, including relapse 

prevention skills and developing a health care 
document. 

2.	 Consultation with relatives, guardians, friends, 
employers, treatment providers, and other significant people, 
in order to change situations and allow the recipient to 
function more independently. The consultation must be 
directed exclusively to the treatment of the recipient. 

~_A physician, physician assistant, pharmacist and registered 
nurse must be capable of providing medication education. 
Medication education includes training the recipient in the 
symptoms of mental illness, discussing the benefits and-side 
effects of psychotropic medication, and discussing the 
importance of medication compliance. Medical education 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. 

Personal care assistant services are provided by personal care 
provider organizations or by use of the PCA Choice option. 

A.	 Personal care provider organizations 

Personal care services provider qualifications: 

Personal care assistants must be employees of or under 
contract with a personal care provider organization or a 
fiscal intermediary (PCA Choice) 

•	 If a recipient's diagnosis or condition changes, 
requiring a level of care beyond that which can be 
provided by a personal care provider, non-Medicare 
certified personal care providers must refer and document 
the referral of dual eligibles to Medicare providers (when 
Medicare is the appropriate payer) . 

Personal care assistant means a person who: 

a)	 is at least 18 years old, except for persons 16 to 18 
years of age who· participated in a related school­
based job training program or have completed a 
certified home health aide competency evaluation; 

b)	 is able to effectively communicate with the recipient 
and the personal care provider organization; 

c)	 is able to and provides covered personal care 
assistant services according to the 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

recipient's plan of carel responds appropriately to 
the recipient's needs, and reports changes in the 
recipient's conditions to the physician or the 
supervising qualified professional if supervision is 
requested by the recipient. For the purposes of this 
item, "qualified professional H means a registered 
nurse, a mental health professional defined in item 
6.d.A. of this attachment, or licensed social worker; 

d}	 is not a consumer of personal care
 
assistant services;
 

e}	 is subject to criminal background checks and 
procedures specified in the state human services 
licensing act; and 

f)	 maintains daily written records for. each recipient 
detailing the services provided and the amount of 
time spent providing the services. 

Personal care provider organization means an entity 
enrolled to provide personal care assistanE services under 
medical assistance that complies with the following: 

a) owners who have a five percent interest or morel and 
managerial officials are subject to a background 
study, This applies to currently enrolled personal 
care provider organizations and those entities 
seeking to enroll as a personal care provider 
organization. Effective November 10, 1997, an 
organization is barred from enrollment if an owner or 
managerial official of the organization has been 
convicted of a crime 
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26. Personal care assistaAt services. (continued) 

specified in the state human services licensing act, 
or a comparable crime in anothe;c jurisdiction,. unless 
the owner or managerial official meets the 
reconsideration criteria specified in the state human 
services licensing act; 

b) the organization must maintain a surety bond and 
liability insurance throughout the duration of 
enrollment and provide proof thereof. The insurer 
must notify the Department of the cancellation or 
lapse of policy; 

c) the organization must maintain the required 
statutory documentation of personal care assistant 

services in a recipient file, as well as evidence of 
compliance with personal care assistant training 
requirements and all notices to recipients regarding 
personal care assistant service use at a rate likely 
to exhaust authorized hours prior to the end of the 
authorization period; 

d) the organization must communicate with the recipient 
or responsible party about the schedule for use of 
authorized hours; and 

e) the organization must notify the recipient and county 
public health nurse in advance, on a Department form, 
if the monthly number of authorized hours is likely 
to exhaust the authorized hours prior to the end of 
the authorization period. 

f) the organization shall comply with all laws and rules 
governing the provision of personal care assistant 
services. 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

B.	 PCA Choice option 
PCA Choice is a consumer directed personal care service option. 
The PCA Choice option allows the recipient to recruit, hire, 
terminate, train and supervise personal care assistants. Under 
this option, the recipient and qualified professional do not 
require professional delegation. 

"Responsible party" means an individual who is capable of 
providing the support necessary to assist the recipient to live in 
the community, is at least 18 years old, actively participates in 
planning and directing of personal care services and is not the 
personal care assistant. 

"Qualified professional" means a registered nurse, mental health 
professional or licensed social worker providing s~ervision of 
personal care services and_staff. 

• The recipient or responsible party: 
a)	 uses a PCA Choice provider, not a personal care provider 

organization. ,A PCA Choice provider assists the recipient to 
account for covered personal care assistant services. A PCA 
Choice provider is considered a joint employer of the 
qualified professional described in item A and the personal 
care assistant, and may not be related to the recipient, 
qualified professional, or personal care assistant. A PCA 
Choice provider or owner of the entity providing PCA Choice 
services must pass a criminal background check according to 
the state human services licensing act; 

b)	 if a qualified professional is requested, uses a qualified 
professional for help in developing and revising a service 
plan to meet the recipient's needs, as assessed by the public 
health nurse; 

c)	 supervises the personal care assistant if the recipient or 
responsible party does not want a qualified professional to 
supervise the personal care assistant; 

dl	 if the recipient or responsible party wants a qualified 
professional to supervise the personal care assistant, 
verifies and documents the credentials of the qualified 
professional, and then recruits, hires and, if necessary, 
terminates the qualified professional; 
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26.	 Personal care services. (continued) 

e)	 recruits, hires and, if necessary, terminates the 
personal care assistant; 

f)	 with assistance from the qualified professional, 
orients and trains the personal care assistant; 

g)	 with assistance as needed from the qualified 
professional or the recipient's physician, supervises 
and evaluates the personal care assistant; 

hl	 monitors and verifies in writing the number of hours 
worked by the qualified professional and the personal 
care assistant; and 

i)	 together with the PCA Choice provider, qualified 
professional, and personal care assistant, enters 
into a written agreement before services begin. 

The agreement must include: 

1)	 the duties of the recipient, PCA.Choice 
provider, qualified professional, and 
personal care assistant; 

2)	 the salary and benefits for the qualified 
professional and personal care assistant; 

3)	 the administrative fee of the PCA Choice 
provider and services paid for with that fee, 
including background checks; 
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26.	 Personal care aGGiGta~ services. (continued) 

4)	 procedures to respond to billing or payment 
complaints; and 

5)	 procedures for hiring and terminating the 
qualified professional and personal care 
assistant. 

The peA Choice provider: 

a)	 enrolls in medical assistance; 

b)	 requests and secures background checks on 
qualified professionals and personal care 
assistants according to the state human services 
licensing act; 

c)	 bills for personal care assistant and qualified 
professional services; 

d)	 pays the qualified professional and personal 
care assistant based on actual hours of services 
provided; 

e)	 withholds and pays all applicable federal and 
state taxes; 

f)	 makes the arrangements and pays unemployment 
insurance, taxe$, workers' compensation, 
liability insurance, and other benefits, if any; 

g}	 maintains the required statutory documentation 
of personal care assistant services in a 
re~ipient file, as well as evidence of 
compliance with personal care assistant training 
requirements and all notice to recipients 

. regarding personal care 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

assistant service use at a rate likely to 
exhaust_authorized hours prior to the end of the 
authorization period; and 

i)	 ensures arm's length transactions with the 
recipient and personal care assistant. 

i) the organization shall comply with all laws and 
rules governing the provision of personal care 
assis~ant services. 

At a minimum, qualified professionals visit the 
recipient in the recipient's home at least once every 
year. Qualified professionals report to the appropriate 
authorities any suspected abuse, neglect, or financial 
exploitation of the recipient. 

As part of the assessment and reassessment process in 
item	 6.d.B. of this attachment, the following must be 
met to use, or continue to use, a PCA Choice provider: 

a)	 the recipient must be able to direct the 
recipient's own care, or the responsible party 
for the recipient must be readily available to 
direct the care of the personal care assistant; 

b)	 the recipient or responsible party must be 
knowledgeable of the health care needs of the 
recipient and be able to effectively communicate 
"those needs; 

c) effective August 1, 2002, the recipient who 
receives shared personal care assistant services 
(shared services) must use the same PCA Choice 
provider; and 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

d)	 a service update cannot be used in lieu of an 
annual reassessment. 

Authorization to use the peA Choice option will be 
denied, revoked, or suspended if: 

a)	 the public health nurse or qualified 
professional as defined in item 26 on page 77c 
of Attachment 3.1-B determines that use of this· 
option jeopardizes the recipient's health and 
safety; 

b)	 the parties do not comply with the written 
agreement; or 

c)	 the use of the option results in abusive or 
fraudulent billing. 

The recipient or responsible party may appeal this 
decision. A denial, revocation or suspension will not 
affect the recipient's authorized level of personal care 
assistant services. 

c. Amount, duration and scope of personal care assistant 
services: 

•	 Department prior authorization is required for all 
personal care assistant services and supervision 
services, if supervision is requested by the recipient 
or responsible party. Prior authorization is based on 
the physician's statement of need; the recipient's 
needs, diagnosis, and condition; an assessment of the 
recipient; primary payer coverage determination 
information as required; the service plan; and cost 
effectiveness when compared to other care options. The 
Department may authorize up to the following amounts of 
personal care assistant services: 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

a)	 ~p to 2 times the average number of direct care 
hours provided in nursing facilities for the 
recipient's comparable case mix level; 

b)	 up to 3 times the average number of direct care 
hours provided in nursing facilities for recipients 
with complex medical needs, or who are dependent in 
at least seven activities of daily living and need 
either physical assistance with eating or have a 
neurological diagnosis; 

c)	 up to 60 percent of the average payment rate for 
care provided in a regional treatment center for 
recipients who exhibit, or that without. 
supervision, observation, or redirection would 
exhibit, one or more of the following behaviors: 

1)	 self-injury; 

2)	 physical injury to others; or 

3}	 destruction of property; 

d)	 up to the amount medical assistance would pay for 
care provided in a regional treatment center for 
recipients referred by a regional treatment center 
preadmission evaluation team; or 

e)	 up to the amount medical assistance would pay for 
facility care for recipients referred by a long 
term care consultation team; and 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

f) a	 reasonable amount of time for the provision of 
supervision of personal care 
assistant services, if a qualified professional is 
requested by the recipient or responsible party. 

Department prior authorization is also required if more 
than two reassessments to determine a recipient's need for 
personal care assistant services are needed during a 
calendar year. 

•	 Personal care assistant services must be 
provided pursuant to a physician's statement 
of need. The statement of need must include the 
diagnosis or condition of the recipient and be updated 
when the recipient's medical condition requires a change, 
but at least annually if the need for services is ongoing. 
The service plan must be reviewed and revised as medically 
necessary at least once every 365 days. 

For	 personal care assistant services: 

a)	 effective July 1, 1996, the amount and type of 
service authorized based upon the assessment and 
service plan will follow the recipient if the 
recipient chooses to change providers; 

b)	 effective July 1, 1996, if the recipient's medical 
need changes, the recipient's provider may request a 
change in service authorization; and 

c)	 as of July 1, 1998, in order to continue to 
receive personal care assistant services after the 
first year, the recipient or the responsible party, 
in conjunction with the public health 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

nurse, may complete a service update on forms 
developed by the Department. If a service update is 
completed, it substitutes for the annual reassessment 
described in item 6.d.B. of this attachment, except 
that	 peA Choice consumers must have a face-to-face 
assessment at least annually. 

Recipients or responsible parties utilizing either PCA 
Choice or PCA provider organizations have the choice to 
request qualified professional supervision or to supervise 
the	 PCA themselves. A reasonable amount of time for the 
provision of supervision shall be authorized. 

•	 Personal care assistant services are provided for 
recipients who live in their own home if their own home is 
not a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care 
facility for the mentally retarded (ICF!MR), institution 
for mental disease, or licensed health care facility. 

•	 Recipients may use approved units of service outside the 
home when normal life activities take them outside the 
home. Effective July 1, 1996, total hours for personal 
care assistant services, whether performed inside or 
outside a recipient's home, cannot exceed that which is 
otherwise allowed for personal care assistant services in 
an in-home setting. 

•	 Recipients may rece~ve shared personal care 
assistant services (shared services), defined as 
providing personal care assistant services by a 
personal care assistant to two or three recipients at the 
same time and in the same setting. For purposes of this 
item, "settingH means the home or foster care home of one 
of the recipients, a child care program in 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

which all recipients served by one personal care 
assistant are participating, which has state licensure or 
is operated by a local school district or private school, 
or outside the home or foster care home when normal life 
activities take recipients outside the home or foster care 
home. The provider must offer the recipient or responsible 
party the option of shared services; if accepted, the 
recipient or responsible 
party may withdraw participation in shared services at any 
time. 

If supervision of a personal care assistant by a 
qualified professional is requested by anyone of the 
recipients or responsible parties, the supervision duties 
of the qualified professional are limited to only those 
recipients who requested the supervision. In addition to 
the documentation requirements for personal care provider 
service records in state rule, a personal care provider 
must meet documentation 
requirements for shared services and must document the 
following in the health service record for each recipient 
sharing services: 

a)	 permission by the recipient or responsible party for 
the maximum number of shared services hours per week 
chosen by the recipient; 

b)	 permission by the recipient or responsible party for 
personal care assistant services provided outside the 
recipient's home; 

c)	 permission by the recipient or responsible party for 
others to receive shared services in the recipient's 
home; 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

d) revocation by the recipient or responsible party of 
the shared service authorization, or the shared 
service to be provided to others in the recipient's 
home, or the shared services to be provided outside 
the recipient's home; 

e} if a qualified professional is requested by anyone 
of the recipients or responsible parties, supervision 
of the shared personal care assistant services by the 
qualified professional, including the date, time of 
day, number of hours spent supervising the provision 
of shared services, whether the supervision was face­
to-face or another method of supervision, changes in 
the 
recipient's condition, and shared services 
scheduling issues and recommendations; 

f) if a qualified professional is requested by anyone 
of the recipients or responsible parties, 
documentation by the qualified professional of 
telephone calls or other discussions with the 
personal care assistant regarding services being 
provided to the recipient; and 

g) daily documentation of the shared services 
provided by each identified personal care 
~ssistant including: 

1) the names of each recipient receiving 
services together; 

shared 

2) the setting for the shared services, 
including the starting and ending times 
recipient received shared services; and 

that the 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

3)	 notes by the personal care assistant 
regarding changes in the recipient's 
condition, problems that may arise from the 
sharing of services, scheduling issues, care 
issues, and other notes as required by the 
qualified professional, if a qualified 
professional is requested by anyone of the 
recipients or responsible parties. 

In order to receive shared services: 

a)	 the recipient or responsible party, in 
conjunction with the county public health nurse, must 
determine: 

1)	 whether shared services is an appropriate 
option based on the individual needs and 
preferences of the recipient; and 

2)	 the amount of shared services allocated as 
part of the overall authorization of 
personal care assistant services; 

b)	 the recipient or responsible party, in 
conjunction with the supervising qualified 
professional (if a qualified professional is 
requested by anyone of the recipients or 
responsible parties), must arrange the setting and 
grouping of shared services based on the individual 
needs and preferences of the recipients; 

c)	 the recipient or responsible party, and the 
supervising qualified professional (if a 
qualified professional is requested by anyone of the 
recipients or responsible parties), must 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

consider and document in the recipient's health 
service record: 

1)	 the additional qualifications needed by the 
personal care assistant to provide care to several 
recipients in the same setting; 

2)	 the additional training and supervision 
needed by the personal care assistant to ensure 
that the needs of the recipient are appropriately 
and safely met. If supervision by a qualified 
professional is requested by anyone of the 
recipients or responsible parties, the provider 
must provide on-site supervision by a qualified 
professional within the first 14 days of shared 
services, and monthly thereafter; 

4)	 the setting in which the shared 
services will be provided; 

4)	 the ongoing monitoring and evaluation of the 
effectiveness and appropriateness of the service 
and process used to make changes in service or 
setting; and 

5)	 a contingency plan that accounts for absence of the 
recipient in a shared services setting due to 
illness or other circumstances and staffing 
contingencies. 

•	 The following personal care assistant services are covered 
under medical assistance as personal care assistant 
services: 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

a}	 services and supports that assist in accomplishing 
activities of daily living. UActivities of daily 
living" include eating, toileting, grooming, 
dressing, bathing, transferring, mobility, and 
positioning; 

b}	 services and supports that assist in 
accomplishing instrumental activities of daily 
living. "Instrumental activities of daily living" 
include meal planning and preparation, managing 
finances, shopping for food, clothing and other 
essential items, performing essential household 
chores, communication by teleph'one and other 
media, and participating in the community; 

c)	 services and supports that assist in health-
related functions through hands-on assistance, 
supervision, and cuing. "Health-related functions" 
means services that can be delegated or assigned by a 
licensed health care professional to be performed by 
a personal care assistant. These are provided under 
the supervision of a qualified professional or the 
direction of the recipient's physician: and 

d}	 redirection and intervention for behavior 
including observation and monitoring. 

•	 A recipient may choose the flexible use option, which is 
the scheduled use of Quthorized hours of personal care 
assistant services, which vary within a service 
authorization period of up to six months. Authorized 
hours not used within the six-month period may not be 
carried over to another time period. 
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26.	 Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

Under the flexible use option: 

a)	 a recipient or responsible party, the public 
health nurse, and, if the recipient is receiving case 
management services, the case manager, determine 
whether the flexible use option is appropriate. 

b)	 if appropriate, the persons listed in item a) must 
ensure that the allocation of hours covers the 
ongoing needs of the recipient over an entire year 
divided into two six-month periods of flexible use. 

c)	 the Department will not authorize additional services 
to supplement a service authorization that is 
exhausted before the end date under this option, 
unless the public health nurse determines a change in 
condition and a need for increased services is 
established. 

d)	 the personal care provider organization and the 
recipient or responsible party, or the PCA Choice 
provider, must develop a written month-to-month plan 
of the projected use of personal care assistant 
services that is part of the care plan and ensures: 

1}	 that the health and safety needs of the 
recipient will be met; 

2)	 that the total annual authorization will not be 
used before the end of the authorization period; 
and 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

3) monthly monitoring will be conducted of 
hours used as a percentage of the authorized 
amount. 

e) the provider must notify the recipient or 
responsible party, the public health nurse, and any 
case manager in advance, on a Department form, if the 
monthly amount of hours used is likely to exhaust 
authorized hours prior to the end of the 
authorization period. 

2 
f) the Department will provide wr·itten notice to the 

provider, the recipient or responsible party, the 
public health nurse, and any case manager, when a 
flexible use recipient exceeds the month-to-month 
projected use of personal care assistant services as 
determined by the Department. If the use of hours 
exceeds the monthly service authorization by this 
amount for two months during any three-month period, 
the Department will notify the recipient and the 
public health nurse that the flexible use 
authorization will be revoked beginning the following 
month. However, this revocation is not implemented 
if, within ten working days of the Department's 
notice, the public health nurse requests prior 
authorization (which cannot exceed 45 days) for a 
temporary increase in the service authorization or 
continuation of the flexible use option, or the 
recipient appeals and services pending appeal ±e are 
ordered. The denial or revocation of the flexible 
use option does not affect the 
recipient's authorized level of personal care 
assistant services. 

g) the recipient or responsible party may stop the 
flexible use of hours at any time. 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

• The following services are not covered under medical 
assistance as personal care assistant services: 

a)	 health services provided and billed by a provider who is 
not an enrolled personal care provider; 

b)	 personal care assistant services that are provided by 
the recipient's spouse, legal guardian, parent of a 
recipient under age 18, or the recipient's responsible 

.party; 

c)	 effective July 1, 1996, services provided by a 
foster care provider of a recipient who cannot 
direct his or her own care, unless a county or 
state case manager visits the recipient as 
needed, but not less than every six months, to 
monitor tne health and safety of the recipient 
and to ensure the goals of the care plan are met; 

d)	 services provided by the residential or program 
license holder in a residence for more than. 
four persons; 

e)	 services that are the responsibility of a 
residential or program license holder under the 
terms of a service agreement and administrative 
rules; 

f)	 sterile procedures; 

g)	 giving of injections of fluids into veins, 
muscles, or skin; 

h)	 homemaker services that are not an integral 
part 6f a per~onal care assistant service; 

i)	 home maintenance or chore services; 
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26. Personal care assistant services. (continued) 

j) personal care assistant services when the 
number of foster care residents is greater than 
four; 

k)	 personal care assistant services when other, more cost­
effective, medically appropriate services are available; 

1)	 services not specified as covered under medical 
assistance as personal care assistant services; 

m)	 ~ffective January 1, 1996, assessments by
 
personal care provider organizations or by
 
independently enrolled registered nurses;
 

n)	 effective July 1, 1996, services when the 
responsible party is an employee of, or under. contract with, or 
has any direct or indirect financial relationship with the 
personal care provider or personal care assistant, unless case 
management is provided (applies to foster care settings); 

0)	 effective January 1, 1996, personal care 
assistant services that are not in the service plan; 

p)	 home care services to a recipient who is eligible for Medicare 
covered home care services (including hospice), if elected by 
the recipient, or any other insurance held by the recipient; 

q)	 services to other members of the recipient's
 
household;
 

r)	 any home care service included in the daily rate of the 
community-based residential facility where the recipient 
resides; 

s}	 personal care assistant services that are provided without a 
physician's statement of need in the personal care provider 
agency's or PCA Choice provider's recipient file; or 

t) services not authorized by the commissioner or the 
commissioner's designee. 
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4.b.	 Early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment services: 

EPSDT (in Minnesota, Child & Teen Checkup) services are paid the lower 
of the submitted charge or the 75th percentile of all screening charges 
submitted by providers of the service during the previous 12-month 
period of July 1 to June 30. The adjustment necessary to reflect the' 
75~ percentile is effective annually on October 1. 

Effective January 1, 2002, provider travel time is covered if a 
recipient's individual treatment plan requires the provision of mental 
health services outside of the provider's normal place of business. 
Travel time is paid as a supplement to the payment for the associated 
covered service. Travel time is paid at the lower of the submitted 
charge or 45 cents per minute. This does not include travel time 
included in other billable services. 

A.	 IHS/638 facility providers of children's therapeutic services and 
supports are paid according to the encounter rate specified on page 1 
of this Attachment for each face-to-face encounter. 

B.	 With the exceptions listed below, children's therapeutic services and 
supports not provided by IHS/638 fa~ilities 4e are paid the lower of 
the submitted charge or 75.6% of the 50 th percentile of 1999 charges. 

Effective for services provided on or after October 1, 2007, the 
payment for all children's therapeutic services and supports not 
provided by IHS/638 facilities is the lower of the submitted 
charge or 2% over the rate in effect on september 30, 2007. 

Effective for services provided on or after October 1, 2008, the 
payment for all children's therapeutic services and supports not 
provided by IHS/638 facilities is the lower of the submitted 
charge or 2% over the rate in effect on September 30, 2008. 

1. Effective for group skills training and psychotherapy services 
provided on or after January 1, 2008, by providers of children's 
therapeutic services and supports, except those providers 
described in items 2a,b and c below, the payment is the lower of 
the submitted charge or 23.7% over the rate in effect on December 
31, 2007. 

2. Effective July 1, 2007, group skills training and psychotherapy 
services, when provided as components of children's therapeutic 
services and supports, are paid the lower of the submitted charge 
or 23.7% over the rates in effect on January 1, 2006, when 
provided by: 
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5.a.	 Physicians' services whether furnished in the office, the 
patient's home, a hospital, a nursing facility or 
elsewhere. (continued) 

complete clinical results per recipient that meet the 
criteria of optimal diabetic an/or cardiovascular care. 
Effective July 1, 2009, the rate adjustment is $250 every 
six months when all of the above criteria are met. 

Effective January 1, 2000, the rate is increased by three 
percent. 

Effective July 1, 1998, the rate is increased three 
percent for these services; effective January 1, 2000, the 
rate is increased another three percent; effective October 
1, 2005, and October 1, 2006, the rate is increased by 
2.2553 percent, excluding respiratory therapy services. 
Effective October 1, 2007, the rate is increased by two 
percent, excluding respiratory therapy services. Effective 
October 1, 2008, the rate is increased by two percent, 
excluding respiratory therapy services. 

The rates for respiratory therapy services are as follows: 
Procedure Code	 Rate 
94640 $ 15.02 
94642 19.02 
94650 16.70 
94651 14.48 
94652 140.34 
94656 100.24 
94657 43.43 
94660 100.24 
94664 18.78 
94665 12.93 
94667 16.19 
94668 16.19 

If the service is provided by an enrolled physician 
assistant, the service is paid the lower of: 

1) submitted charge; or 
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5.a.	 physicians' services whether furnished in tile office, the patiellt's__home, a 

hospital, a nursing facility or elsewhere. (continued) 

The State has established a rate for the following:
 
Procedure Code Rate
 
(1)	 92340 $ 28.84 
(2)	 92341 33.99 
(3)	 V5090 182.15 
(4)	 V51l0 273.23 
(5)	 V5160 273.23 
(6)	 V5200 182.15 
(7)	 V5240 273.23 
(8)	 V5241 182.15 

Medical Assistance provides for an additional annual payment to teaching sites 
providing physician services, including mental health services delivered by 
psychiatrists, community mental health centers and essential community providers. 
For each state fiscal year a Department medical education payment will be 
distributed by a sponsoring institution prior to October 1 of each year for the 
previous state fiscal year. Effective July I, 2007 the payment will be increased 
in an amount equal to: 

(1)	 $7,575,000 multiplied by a proportion equal to the physician's public program 
revenue divided by the total amount of public program revenue ~f all eligible 
training sites. Public program revenue is the sum of a provider's revenue 
from medical assistance, prepaid medical assistance, general assistance 
medical care and, prepaid general assistance medical care. 

(2)	 For physicians with public program revenue equal to or greater than 0.98 
percent of the total public program revenue of all eligible training sites, 
payments are increased by 20 percent. 

(3)	 Payments to t~aining sites with public.program revenue less than 0.98 percent 
of the total public program revenue of all training eligible sites are 
reduced proportionately to fund the payment increases described in sub-item 
(2) • 

(4)	 Training sites with no public program revenue are not eligible for increased 
payments. 

Psychiatric consultations provided on or after October I, 2006, are paid through 
rates representing three levels of service complexity and substance, assigning a 
value to both the primary care physician and the psychiatrist's component of the 
consultation and combining them to create a single payment rate for each level of 
psychiatric consultation. Medical Assistance payment is made to the primary care 
physician who, in turn, is responsible for paying the consulting psychiatrist 
pursuant to a contract. 

Medical Assistance will pay for this service at the lower of: 
(1) the submitted charge; or the rate below in (2). 

(2) (a) Primary care component is provided by a physician plus the psychiatrist 
component: 

CPT code ~ 99499 HE $80.85 
CPT code ~99499 HE TF· $159.69 
CPT code ~ 99499 HE TG $201.10 

(b)	 Primary care component provided by a physician assistant, nurse 
practitioner, or clinical nurse specialist plus the 
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5.a. Physicians' services whether furnished in the office, the patient's 
home, a hospital, a nursing facility or elsewhere. (continued) 

psychiatrist component: 
CPT code 99371 99499 HE $78.79 
CPT code 9937~ 99499 HE TF $155.07 
CPT code 99373 99499 NE TG $194.50 

(c) Primary care component provided by a physician extender 
plus	 the psychiatrist component: 

CPT code 99371 U7 99499 HE U7 $ 73.64 
CPT code 99372 U7 99499 HE TF U7 $143.54 
CPT code 99373 U7 99499 HE TG U7 $178.02 

Effective January 1, 2009, one six-month payment per recipient with 
5-6 chronic diagnoses receiving Group 1 provider-directed care 
coordination, associated with an evaluation and management visit, is 
the lower of: 
•	 Submitted charge; or 

$243.24 

Effective January 1, 2009, one six-month payment per recipient with 
7-8 chronic diagnoses receiving Group 2 provider-directed 
coordination, associated with an evaluation and management visit, is 
the lower of: 

Submitted charge; or 
$ 316.20 

Effective January 1, 2009, one six-month payment per recipient with 
10 or more chronic diagnoses receiving Group 2 provider-directed 
coordination, associated with an evaluation and management visit, is 
the lower of: 

Submitted charge; or 
$458.52 

For provider-directed care coordination payment based on services 
less than six months in duration, the payment rate listed above may 
be allocated to the time period served. Allocation can only occur in 
the case of a recipient's death, loss of eligibility or change of 
payer. Payment must be associated with the last evaluation and 
management visit occurring during the preceding six months. 
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6.d. Other practitioners' services. (continued) 

The rates for public health nurse assessments for personal care 
assistant services are as follows: 

Service 7/1100 7/]/0] 7/1102 10/1105 10/1/06 10/1/07 7/1108 ]0/1108 

Initial Public Health 
Nursing Assessment 
Visit for Personal Care 
Assisttmt Services (in­
person) 

$232.061 

visit 

$239.02/ 

visit 

$246.19/ 

visit $251.74/ 

visit 

$257.42/ 

visit 

$262.57t 

visit 

$262.57L 

YM 
$267.82/ 

visit 

Public Health Nursing 
Reassessment Visit for 
Personal Care Assistant 
Services submitted 

$232.06/ 

visit 

$239.02/ 

visit 

$246.19/ 

visit 
$251.74/ 

visit $257.42 

$262.57 
$262.57 $267.82. 

prior to the end date of 
current PCA service 
authorization 

Public Health Nursing 
Service Update 
submitted prior to the 
end date of current 

$116.03/ 

update 

$119.51/ 

Update 

$123.10/ 

update $125.88/ 

visit 

$128.72 

.$131.29 $131.29 $133.92 

PCA service 
authorization 

$196.93 $200.86 
Public Health Nursing 
Reassessment Visit for 
PCA Services 
submitted after the end 
date of current PCA 
service authorization. 

$98.47 $100.44 
Public Health NUI'sing 
Service Update 
submitted after the end 
date of cunent PCA 
service authorization. 



STATE: MINNESOTA ATTACHMENT 4.19-8 
Effective: October 1, 2008 pq.ge 25 
TN: 08-17 
Approved: AU G2 8 2009 
Supersedes: 07-08 (06-19, 05-21, 04-22, 02-20) 

7.a.	 Intermittent or part~time nursing service provided by a home health 
agency or by a register~d nurse when no home health agency exists in 
the area. 

Payment is the lower of: 

1)	 submitted charge; or 

2)	 Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reports 
submitted by free-standing home health agencies in the 
,Minneapolis and St. Paul area in the calendar year specified in 
state legislation governing maximum payment rates. 

Effective July 1, 1994, this payment rate is increased by three 
percent. 

Effective for skilled nurse visits on or after July 1, 1998, payment 
is the lower of the submitted cha~or the rate from the chart 
below. 

Sel'vice 
provided on or 

7/1/98 7/1/99 7/1100 
7/1101 

7/[/02 
10/1105 10/1106 10/1107 10/1/08 

after: 

Skilled Nurse 
Visit 

$54.37 
Ivisit 

$56.54 

Ivisit 
$59.93 

Ivisit 

$61.73 

Ivisit 

$63.58 
$68.26 $69.80 $71.20 $72.62 

Immunizations and other injectables are paid using the same methodology 
as Item 2.a./ Outpatient hospital services. 

Home health agencies that administer pediatric vaccines in item 2.a., 
Outpatient hospital services, available through the Minnesota Vaccines 
for Children Program pursuant to §1928 of the Act, are paid using the 
same methodology in item 2.a. for these vaccines. 
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7.b. Home health aide services provided by a home health agency. 

Payment is the lower of: 

1)	 submitted charge; or 

2)	 Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost 
reports submitted by free-standing home health agencies 
in the Minneapolis and St. Paul area in the calendar year 
specified in state legislation governing maximum payment rates. 

Effective July 1,1994, this payment rate is increased by three 
percent. 

Effective for home health aide visits on or after July 1, 1998, 
payment is the lower of the submitted charge or the rate from the 
chart below. 

Service 7/1198 7/1/99 7/1/00 7/1101 711102 
10(1/06 10/1107 10/1/08 

provided 10/1/05 

on 01' after 

Home 
Health Aide 

Visit 

$41.72/ 

visit 

$43.39/ 

visit 

$45.99/ 

Visit 

$47.37/ 

visit 

$48.79 
$52.38 $53.57 $54.64 $55.73 
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7.d.	 Physica~ therapy, occupational therapy or speech pathology and 
audiology services provided by a home health or medical 
rehabilitation agency. 

Physical therapist, occupational therapist, speech pathologist and 
audiologist services provided by a home health agency are paid the 
lower of: 
(1)	 submitted charge; or 

(2)	 Medicare cost-per-visit limits bas~d on Medicare cost reports 
submitted by free-standing home health agencies in the 
Minneapolis and St. Paul area in calendar year 1982. 

Physical therapy assistant and occupational therapy assistant services 
provided by a home health agency are paid using the same methodology as 
items 11.a., Physical therapy and II.b., Occupational therapy. 

Effective for therapy visits on or after July 1,1998, payment is the 
lower of the submitted charge or the rate from the chart below. 

I 

Service 7/1198 7/1199 7/1100 7/1/01 7/1102 10/1106 10/1107 10/1/08 

pl'ovided on or 10/1105 
after 

Physical Therapy 

Visit (PT) 

$51.00/ 
visit 

$53.04/ 
visit 

$56.22/ 

visit 

$57.91/ 

visit 

$59,65/ 

visit 

$64.05/ 

visit $65.49 $66.80 $68.14 

Physical Therapy 
Visit (Ass't.) 

$37.64/ 

visit 

$38.77/ 

visit 

$41.63/ 

visit $42.57 $43.42 $44.22 

Speech Therapy 
Visit 

$51.78/ 
visit 

$53.85/ 
visit 

$57.08/ 

visit 

$58.79/ 

visit 

$60.55/ 

visit 

$65.01/ 

visit $66.48 $67.81 $69.17 

Occupational 
Therapy Visit (01') 

$52.05/ 
visit 

$54.13/ 
visit 

$57.38/ 

visit 

$59.10/ 

visit 

$60.87/ 

visist 

$65,35/ 

visit $66.83 $68.17 $99.53 

Occupational 
Therapy Visit 
(Ass't.) 

$38.42/ 

visit 

$39.57/ 

visit 
$42.49/ 

visit 
$43.44 $44.31 $45.20 

Respiratory 
Therapy Visit 

$37.85/ 
visit 

$39.36/ 
visit 

$41.72/ 

visit 

$42.97/ 

visit 

$44.26/ 

visit 

.$45.26/ 

visit $46.28 $47.21 $48.15 

Services provlded by rehab~11tat~on agenC1es are pald uSlng the same 
methodology as item S.a, Physicians' services, except that payments are 
increased by 38% for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech 
pathology services provided by an entity that: 
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8. Private duty nursing services.
 

Payment is the lower of the submitted charge; or the following:
 

Sel'vice 
1)I'ovldcd on 

7/l/97 
7/1/98 7/1199 

7/1/00 61l5/0I 7/1101 7/1/02 
10/I/OS 

1011/06 10/1107 

1011/08 

or after 

Independent 
Private Duty 
L.P.N. 

$3.00/ 

Unit 

$3.09/ 

Unit 

$3.211 

unit 
$3.401 

unit 

$5.17/un 
it 

$5.78/ullit $5.95/unit 

$6.08/unit 
$6.22/unit $6.34 

$6.47 

Privale Duty 
L.P.N. 

$4.55/ 

Unit 

$4.69/ 

Unit 

$4.88/ 

unit 

$5.17/ 

unit 

$5.I7/un 
it 

$5.78/ulIit $5.95/unit $6.08/unll $6.22/unit $6.34 $6.47 

Independent 
Private Dilly 
R.N. 

$4,011 

Unit 

$4.131 

Unit 
$4301 

unit 

$4.56/ 

Unit 

$6.73/Ull 
it 

$7.52/unil $7.75/unit 
$7.92/unit $8. 1O/unit $8,26 .$M1 

Private Duty 
R.N. 

$5.931 

Unit 

$6.11/ 
unit 

$6.35/ 
unit 

$6.73/ 

unit 

$6,73/I1n 
it 

$7.52111nit $7.75/unit 
$7..92/unit $8.10/llllit $8.26 $8.43 

Pl'ivatc Duty 
L.P.N. 
(complex) 

$5.291 

Unit 

$5.45/ 

unit 

$5.67f 

unit 

$6.011 

unit 

$6.01lIln 
it 

$6.77hlllit $6.97/11nit 
$7.13/unit $7. 291l1nit $7.44 fl..i2 

Pl'ivnte Duty 
R.N. 
(complex) 

$6.691 

Unit 

$6.89f 

unit 

$7.17f 

unit 

$7.60f 

unit 

$7.60/Iln 
it 

$9.03/unit $9,J0/llnit 
$9.5Ifunit 

$9.72/unit $9.91 .$..!..Q,il 

NOTE: 1 unit 15 minutes 

Shared care: For two recipients sharing care, payment is one and one­
half times the payment for serving one recipient, 'This paragraph 
applies only to situations in which both recipients are present and 
received shared care on the date for which the service is billed. 

Effective March I, 2006 and ending September 30, 2007, payment for 
private duty nursing services is increased by .2% for those providers 
who applied and met the competitive requirements for a medical 
assistance payment rate increase for the purpose of employee 
scholarships, except that the increase is .3% effective on or after 
September 1, 2006, for those providers who agree to accept the higher 
rate on a contract entered into on or after March 1, 2006 or whose 
new contract was entered into on or after September 1, 2006. 
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13.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

graduate trainee at the clinical site. 

. (2) (Total amount available for this purpose in the 
Minnesota Medical Education and Research Trust Fund, 
divided by the stale matching rate) minus $4,850,000, 
multiplied by .9, multiplied by .33, mUltiplied by 
the ratio of the site's public program revenue to the 
public program revenue for all teaching sites. 

(3)	 A portion of: [(the total amount available for this 
purpose in the Minnesota Medical Education and 
Research Trust Fund, divided by the state matching 
rate) minus $4,850,000, multiplied by .10, 
multiplied by the provider's sponsoring 
institution's ratio of the amounts in subitems (1) 
and (2) to the total dollars available under 
subitems (1) and (2)], in the amount the sponsoring 
institution determines is necessary to offset 
clinical costs at the site. 

Effective October 1, 2008, basic 1iving and socia1 ski11s 
provided as part of mental health community support services are 
paid: 

for mental health professionals or mental health 
practitioners, the lower of the submitted charge or $12.76 
$13.01 per 15 minute unit; 

for mental health rehabilitation workers! the lower of the 
submitted charge or ~9.56 $9.7~per 15 minute unit; or 

in a group setting, regardless of the provider, the lower of 
the submitted charge or $5.6± $5.72 per 15 minute unit. For 
the purposes of mental. health community support services! 
"group" is defined as two to 10 recipients. 
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13.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

Effective October 1, 2008, consultation with significant people, 
including relatives, guardians, friends, employers, and 
treatment providers, provided as part of mental health community 
support services is paid: 

for mental health professionals or mental health 
practitioners, the lower of the submitted charge or $12.76 
$13.01 per 15 minute unit; 

for mental health rehabilitation workers, the lower of the 
submitted charge or $9.56 $9.75 per 15 minute unit; or 

for mental health professionals, practitioners and 
rehabilitation workers, in a group setting, the lower of the 
submitted charge or $5.61 $5.72 .per 15 minute unit. 

Effective for medication education provided as part of mental 
health community support services on or after January O~to~er 1, 
2008, payment is: 

for individual settings for physicians, registered nurses, 
physician assistants or pharmacists, the l6wer of the 
submitted char"ge or $12.61 $12.86 per 15 minute unit; 

in a group setting for physicians, registered nurses, 
physician assistants or pharmacists , the lower of the 
submitted charge or $8.20 $8.36 per 15 minute unit. 

Crisis assessment provided as part of mental health crisis 
response services are paid: 

for doctoral prepared mental health professionals, the lower 
of the submitted charge or $32.50 per 15 minute unit; 

for master's prepared mental health professionals, the lower 
of the submitted charge or $26.00 per 15 minute unit; or 

for mental health practitioners supervised by mental health 
professionals, the lower of the submitted charge or $22.58 
(effective February 18, 2004) per 15 minute unit 

Crisis intervention provided as part of mental health crisis 
response services are paid: 



STATE: MINNESOTA ATTACHMENT 4.19-8 
Effective: October 1, 2008 Page 45c-2 
TN: 08-17 

Approved: AU\' 2. 8 2009 
Supersedes: Di-16 (04-15(a), 04-08) 

I3.d. Rehabilitative services. (continued) 

not an IMD that provides short-term services, including 
intensive residential rehabilitative mental health services, 
combining individual and group modalities and the individual 
provider's qualifications, and including consultation with 
significant people, the rate is the rate for residential 
rehabilitative services, below. 

When not provided in a supervised, licensed residential 
setting that is not an IMD that provides short-term services, 
consultation with significant people including relatives, 
guardians, friends, employers, and treatment providers 
provided as part of mental health crisis response services on 
or after October 1, 2008, are paid: 

for mental health professionals or mental health 
practitioners, the lower of the submitted charge or 
$12.76 $13.01 per 15 minute unit; 

for mental health rehabilitation workers, the lower of 
the submitted charge or $9.56 $9.75 per 15 minute unit; 
or 

the lower of the submitted charge or $5.61 $5.72 per 15 
minute unit if provided by mental health professionals, 
mental health practitioners. or mental health 
rehabilitation workers in a group setting. 
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26. Personal care assistant services. 

Payment is the lower of the submitted charge, or the state agency 
established rate: 

PmcedUl'e 
Code 

7/1/98 711199 711/00 711101 7/1/02 1011105 
1011/06 10/1107 1011/08 

Personal Care by 
an Agency 1: 1 

$3.18/ 

unit 

$3.31/ 

unit 

$3.51/ 

unit 

$3.621 

unit 

$3.731 

unit 
$3.81/ 

Unit 
$3.90/ 

unit 

$3.981 

Unit 

$4.06 

Personal Care by 
an Agency 1:2 

N/A $2.491 
unit 

$2.64/ 

unit 

$2.72/ 

Unit 

$2.80/ 

unit 
$2.86/ 

Unit 
$2.93/ 

unit 

$2.99/ 

unit 

$3.05 

Personal Care by 
an Agency 1:3 

N/A $2.201 

unit 

$2.33/ 

unit 

$2.40/ 

unit 

$2.47/ 

unit 
$2.53/ 
Unit 

$2.58/ 

unit 

$2.63/ 

unit 

$2.68 

Supervision of 
Personal Care by 
an Agency 

$5.61/ 

unit 

$5.83/ 

unit 

$6.18/ 

unit 

$6.37/ 

unit 

$6.56/ 

unit 

$6.71/ 

Unit 
$6.~6/
tim 

$7.pO/
Un! 

$7.14 

[NOTE: 1 unit = 15 minutes] 

Shared oare: For two recipients sharing services, payment is one and 
one-half times the payment for serving one recipient. For three 
recipients sharing services, payment is two times the payment for 
serving one recipient. This paragraph applies only to situations in 
which all recipients were present and received shared services on the 
date for which the service is billed. 

peA Choioe option: Payment is the same as that paid for personal care 
assistant services. 

Effective March 1, 2006 and ending September 30, 2007, payment for 
personal care services is increased by .2% for those providers who 
applied and met the competitive requirements for a medical assistance 
payment rate increase for the purpose of employee scholarships, except 
that the increase is .3% effective on or after September 1, 2006, for 
those providers who agree to accept the higher rate on a contract 
entered into on or after March 1, 2006 or whose new contract was entered 
into on or after September 1, 2006. 




