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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

1301 Young Street, Room 833

Dallas, Texas 75202 CENTERS for MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

Division of Medicaid & Children’s Health, Region VI

March 14, 2011
Our Reference: SPA TX 10-079

Mr. Billy Millwee

Associate Commissioner for Medicaid & CHIP
Health and Human Services Commission

Post Office Box 13247

Mail Code: H100

Austin, Texas 78711

Dear Mr. Millwee:

This letter is being sent as a companion to our approval of Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) 10-
079 which updates the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment
(EPSDT) fee schedule and implements a one percent reimbursement reduction for certain
Medicaid EPSDT providers.

CMS reviewed the submitted reimbursement pages and the corresponding coverage pages for this
service. In reviewing the state plan pages, CMS found a companion page issue in Appendix 1 to
Attachment 3.1B pages 14 and 21. Please revise the state plan pages to include the following
information:

Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B

1. Page 14 (B): CMS would like the State to add language regarding the physician review of
written plans of care for home health services to indicate that the plans of care will be
reviewed every 60 days as per CFR 440.70(2).

2. Page 14 (C): CMS would like the State to add language regarding the requirement that
physicians must review the need for medical supplies, equipment and appliances annually
as per CFR 440.70(3) (ii).

3. Page 21: In the first paragraph, does the State allow physical therapy services to be
provided by a physical therapist assistant under the direction of a licensed physical
therapist? If so, the State needs to add the qualifications (minimal education/work
experience) for physical therapist assistants.

Additionally, Section 6407 of the Affordable Care Act requires that physicians document the
existence of a face to face encounter with the Medicaid eligible individual prior to ordering the
provision of home health services. CMS would like the State to provide an assurance that the



State is aware of the requirement that physicians must have a face-to-face encounter with eligible
individuals prior to ordering home health services.

Please respond to this letter within 90 days of its receipt to address the issues described above.
Within that period, the State may submit SPAs to resolve these issues or submit a corrective
action plan describing in detail how the State will resolve the issues identified above in a timely
manner. Failure to respond will result in the initiation of a formal compliance process. During
the 90 days, CMS will provide any required technical assistance. If you have any questions,
please contact Cheryl Rupley at (214) 767-6278 or cheryl.rupley(@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Bl of Forstl o

Bill Brooks
Associate Regional Administrator

Enclosures
Cc:  Emily Zalkovsky, Policy Development Support



State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 25

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services

1) Except as otherwise specified, payment for authorized medically necessary
services required to diagnose and treat a condition under Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) services will be based on
existing Medicaid reimbursement methodologies.

a) In Texas, EPSDT services are known as Texas Health Steps
(THSteps). Medicaid services provided only to clients under age 21
are part of the THSteps-Comprehensive Care Program (CCP) and the
reimbursement methodologies are included in this item. The
reimbursement methodologies for services provided to all Medicaid-
eligible clients, including clients under age 21, are located elsewhere in
the Texas Medicaid State Plan and are referenced in this item.

b)  All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

c) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
THSteps providers effective February 1, 2011. The fee schedule will
be posted on the agency website on April 8, 2011.
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 25b

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

3) Durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies
reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible clients under age 21.

a)

b)

e)

SUPERSEDES: M- __ /0-34 HCEA 179 [0-"1Y

Ventilator service agreements reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible
clients under age 21 are reimbursed at the lesser of the provider's
billed charges or fees established by the Texas Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC) in the same manner as the fees
determined by HHSC for DME under home health services in ltem 8(c)
of Attachment 4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for
DME provided by home health agencies and DME providers/suppliers.

All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
durable medical equipment prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies
effective September 1, 2010. The fee schedule will be posted on the
agency website on September 3, 2010.

The reimbursement for services, effective September 1, 2010 through
January 31, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31,
2010, less one percent.

The reimbursement for services, effective February 1, 2011, will be
equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less two percent.
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 25d

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services — continued

5) Private duty nursing services, including, but not limited to, registered nurse
(RN) services, and licensed vocational nurse/licensed practical nurse
(LVN/LPN) services, require prior authorization and are reimbursed based
on the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or fees established by the
Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC).

a)

b)

f)

Eligible providers include: independently enrolled RNs, independently
enrolled LVNs/LPNs, RNs employed by or contracted with home health
agencies, and LVNs/LPNs employed by or contracted with home
health agencies.

The fees are access-based fees and are reviewed every two years.
The fees are based on historical charges, a review of Medicaid fees
paid by other states, a survey of costs for a representative sample of
providers, an analysis of cost reports provided by home health
agencies of similar nursing services, modeling using an analysis of
other data available to HHSC, or a combination thereof. Payments
based on a fee schedule are made for these services.

All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
private duty nursing services effective September 1, 2010. The fee
schedule will be posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective
September 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011, will be equal to the
reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less one percent.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective February
1, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less
fwo percent.
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-8
Page 25e

32. Reimbursement Methodologles for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

6) Physical therapy (PT)

a)

b)

Services reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible clients under age 21
include those delivered by the following provider types:

1) Medicare-certified outpatient facilities known as comprehensive
outpatient rehabilitation facilities (CORFs) and outpatient
rehabilitation facilities (ORFs) in accordance with item 1 of
Attachment 4.18-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for
physicians and certain other practitioners. Payments based on a
fee schedule are made for these services.

2) School districts in accordance with Item 32(17) of Attachment 4.19-
B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for School Health
and Related Services (SHARS).

3) Home health agencies’ reimbursed statewide visits are determined
by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
based on an analysis of relevant fee surveys. Payments based on
a fee schedule are made for these services. '

All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as outlined
on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
physical therapy services effective September 1, 2010. The fee
schedule will be posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective
September 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011, will be equal to the
reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less one percent.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective February
1, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less
two percent.
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 25f

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

7) Occupational therapy (OT)

a)

d)

Services reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible clients under age 21
include those delivered by the following provider types:

1) Medicare-certified outpatient facilities known as comprehensive

outpatient rehabilitation facilities (CORFs) and outpatient
rehabilitation facilities (ORFs) in accordance with item 1 of
Attachment 4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for
physicians and certain other practitioners. Payments based on a
fee schedule are made for these services.

2) School districts in accordance with ltem 32(17) of Attachment 4.19-

B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for School Health
and Related Services (SHARS).

3) Home health agencies’ reimbursed statewide visits are determined

by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
based on an analysis of relevant fee surveys. Payments based on
a fee schedule are made for these services.

All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
occupational therapy services effective September 1, 2010. The fee
schedule will be posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective
September 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011, will be equal to the
reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less one percent.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective February
1, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less
two percent.
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32.

State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 25g

Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis

and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

8)

Speech and language

a) Services reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible clients under age 21

b)

include those delivered by the following provider types:

1) Medicare-certified outpatient facilities known as comprehensive
outpatient rehabilitation facilities (CORFs) and outpatient
rehabilitation facilities (ORFs) in accordance with Item 1 of
Attachment 4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for
physicians and certain other practitioners. Payments based on a
fee schedule are made for these services.

2) School districts in accordance with ltem 32(17) of Attachment

4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for School

Health and Related Services (SHARS).

3) Home health agencies’ reimbursed statewide visits are determined

by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)

based on an analysis of relevant fee surveys. Payments based on

a fee schedule are made for these services.

All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as outlined
on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
speech and language services effective September 1, 2010. The fee
schedule will be posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective
September 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011, will be equal to the
reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less one percent.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective February
1, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less
two percent.
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 25h

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

9) Nutritional services provided by licensed dietitians to Medicaid-eligible
clients under age 21 are reimbursed the lesser of the provider's billed
charges or fees determined by the Texas Health and Human Services
Commission (HHSC) in accordance with item 1 of Attachment 4.19-B,
relating to the reimbursement methodology for physicians and certain other
practitioners.

a) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

b) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
nutritional services effective September 1, 2010. The fee schedule will
be posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

c) The reimbursement for services, effective September 1, 2010 through
January 31, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31,
2010, less one percent.

d) The reimbursement for services, effective February 1, 2011, will be
equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less two percent.
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 25i

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

10) Physician services

a)

b)

d)

Services reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible clients under age 21
include:

1) Vaccines not covered by the Texas Vaccines for Children
Program (TVCP) for clients under age 21 which are reimbursed as
accessed-based fees in accordance with Item 1 of Attachment
4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for physicians
and certain other practitioners. Payments based on a fee
schedule are made for these services.

2) Services delivered by school districts, in accordance with ltem
32(17) of Attachment 4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement
methodology for School Health and Related Services (SHARS).

All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
physician services effective September 1, 2010. The fee schedule will
be posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective
September 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011, will be equal to the
reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less one percent.

The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective February
1, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less
two percent.

™ 10-1749

Supersedes TN | 0-3 4

Approval Date 3 } 4’ - ” Effective Date 2= "’ )I

STATE__Levds
DATERECD_ 12.-29-10

SUPERSEDES: TN-__10 34 DATE APPVD_ 3. JA || A

NATE EFF 2-1-1
HozA179 1079

[




STATE 'T'Q WE: State of Texas
DATE RECD._12-29-10 Attachment 4.19-B
DATE APPVD___ 3 - 14 A Page 25
NATE EFE 2 -1

HGEA 179 ] 0-9

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services ~ continued

11) Audiology and hearing services

a) Services reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible clients under age 21
include those delivered by the following provider types:

1) Licensed audiologists in accordance with ltem 1 of Attachment
4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for physicians
and certain other practitioners. Payments based on a fee
schedule are made for these services.

2) School districts, in accordance with item 32(17) of Attachment
4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for School
Health and Related Services (SHARS).

b) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

c) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
audiology and hearing services effective September 1, 2010. The fee
schedule will be posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

d) The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective
September 1, 2010 through January 31, 2011, will be equal to the
reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less one percent.

e) The reimbursement for services, excluding SHARS, effective February
1, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less .
two percent.
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 25k.1

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

13) Dental services reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible clients under age 21
include those provided by independently enrolled dentists, who are
reimbursed according to the lesser of the provider's billed charges or fees
determined by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission
(HHSC). These are access-based fees under Item 1 of Attachment 4.19-B,
relating to the reimbursement methodology for physicians and certain other
practitioners.

a) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

b) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT
dental services effective September 1, 2010. The fee schedule will be
posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

c) The reimbursement for services, effective September 1, 2010 through
January 31, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31,
2010, less one percent.

d) The reimbursement for services, effective February 1, 2011, will be
equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less two percent.
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.18-B
Page 25L..6

32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis
and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

18) EPSDT Case Management

a) Providers of EPSDT Case Management Services are reimbursed the
lesser of the provider's billed charges or fees determined by the Texas
Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC). The fees are
determined using an analysis of relevant cost or fee surveys available
to HHSC.

b) All fee schedules are availabie through the agency’s website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.

c} The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT case
management services effective September 1, 2010. The fee schedule
will be posted on the agency website on September 3, 2010.

d) The reimbursement for services, effective September 1, 2010 through
January 31, 2011, will be equal to the reimbursement on August 31,
2010, less one percent.

e) The reimbursement for services, effective February 1, 2011, will be
equal to the reimbursement on August 31, 2010, less two percent.
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